Give me a break!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 16th 2005
Published: December 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Oh what a boring morning. How I would have liked to remain in this country for at least another week, or two... Although I have been completely bombarded with impressions on this short stay I haven't even seen more than a few mere specks of the map. Hordes of provinces with spectacular dzongs are crying out for me to go visit them, and I have a feeling it may not be too long before I will return.

First things first though, getting back to Bangkok turns out to become a real cliffhanger. I wake up late at 5.30 but I am still ready to go at the intended departure at 6 o'clock. But there is no sight of my crew, who were supposed to pick me up at the reception desk. I call Tshering, no reply. This doesn't look to good. Paro airport is just a short distance away, and as the clock keeps moving towards half past I wonder if I should stop a vehicle outside, when they finally stumble out of a room. We head directly for the airport and have to make an improvised quick goodbye, it is 6.30 already and the flight leaves at seven. Rushing into the departure hall it seems awfully quiet, not a single passenger in sight. But I did spot the plane outside on the tarmac. A caretaker informs me that check in has closed. Fxxk!!!

I rush up to the first security inspection and pass through quickly. They inform me that my only chance is to find and speak to the airport manager, who just happens to be in the other side of the hall. I grab my bags and sprint up to him making my case, I got to get on that plane. He's not exactly inspired by my pleas and informs me that the gate is closed, plane's weighed in etc. etc. As a whole lot of thoughts start spinning in my head (mostly about obtaining visa extensions, getting a new ticket etc. he decides to give in to my concerns and gives the Druk Air captain a ring, informing him that there is another stupid gwailo (I presume he said that, that's what I would have said had I been an airport manager and been harassed by undisciplined travellers interfering with my clean operations) wanting to come along. The captain doesn't mind though and now a frenetic dance starts to take place as I run from desk to desk paying departure tax, stamping my passport, signing customs forms, checking in luggage and moving through security checkpoints, must look like something from a Pink Panther cartoon.

Finally aboard the plane I sit down in the front of the economy section and collapse into a seat. This is the second time I have to make do without a window seat, only getting a vague glance of the majestic towering snowy white Himalayas stretching out below, and it is pissing me off. I will make the trip back to this country, and I will have that window seat!!! After an uneventful stretch of air spent dozing off in my seat we again make a stopover in Calcutta, and as some passengers disembark I get a lucky break when the first row in economy is bumped into biz class. We are served a fantastic vegetarian Indian breakfast with raita yoghurt, naan bread, spicy pea curry and apple pie. Divine! Back in Bangkok the Don Muang Airport is as busy as ever, and immigration takes unusually long time. Time is something I have plenty of though, as I have no special plans for the day and spend the remainder of it relaxing at my favourite hotel. The weather is hot like hell as usual, but in the evening the sun is replaced by a vigilant thunderstorm, drenching the streets in water. Fortunately everything I require is available just across the street - I love Pradiphat Road!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 33; qc: 153; dbt: 0.1098s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb