The Thai national anthem.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 4th 2008
Published: August 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Laughing BuddhaLaughing BuddhaLaughing Buddha

I have seen this paticular Buddha image a thausand time and know the story that goes with it, but I would really like the know what Lord Buddha was REALLY thinking here.
Bangkok, 13-03-2008. My hotel in Khao San road was badly chosen, I knew that from the start but arriving real early in the morning I had little choise due to a serious lack of free rooms at that time. I've stayed at the Lek before and remember vividly How they turn the TV on real loud at 08.00 o'clock in the morning to listen to the national anthem. King Bumibol himself wrote that anthem. Now, I've nada against the way the thais idolise their king - mon, they think that King Bumibol is some sort of God-King, a bit like a farao from ancient Egypt - but waking up to the national anthem at 08.00 o'clock in the morning after coming home at 03.00 o'clock in the morning with 7 or 8 big beers in my farang belly, I realy do not fancy waking up mere hours later to the thai national anthem. Excuse me so much dear thai people. Still, I did manage to get some well needed sleep and tonight I'll be on the overnight VIP bus to Vietianne in Laos. Yet again a new country in my life, a new place to explore. I'm not all that dissatisfied


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Wat Arun...Wat Arun...
Wat Arun...

seen from the ferry.
Scene at the....Scene at the....
Scene at the....

chinese market.
Funny character...Funny character...
Funny character...

in the tourist district of Bangkok.


Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 14; qc: 66; dbt: 0.1401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb