Thailand: What a Wonderful Place


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 31st 2000
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

By Rob:
When I left Thailand, I was nearly in tears because I knew I would miss it so much. Up to that point in my life and my limited travels, I had never been treated so normally. Back in the summer of 2000, Deanne and I (Rob) headed to Bangkok, Thailand for a trek. In Thailand, we met Ariette, whom we call a good associate or distant friend. Each of us had a unique experience. I hope that the other two share theirs.

Anyway, the main thing that I learned in Thailand was that I was an American tourist first and foremost. My clothing, mannerisms, speech, etc. placed me in a category that superseded race and ethnicity. I was totally shocked, especially as a new international traveler at that time. The most poignant experience is something you might find odd that I found it validating. Deanne and I were almost scammed because we were American tourists. The interesting thing that made it a validating experience, oddly enough, is that the same guy tried to scam us on the very next day. It was clear to me that the scammer did not see me as some lowly Black man. Instead, he saw me as an American tourist who had money to lose. All he cared about was our American money. Strangely validating at that point for me. Perhaps at another time, I will share the scam. Suffice it to say that the scam is covered in the Lonely Planet, but we followed along to an extent only out of sympathy for the poorest guys involved, who seemed just out of luck. In the end, we didn't cave into their demands. No biggie for us.

The thing I appreciated so much about Bangkok and other parts of Thailand that we visited was how folks just treated us politely. As a dark-skinned guy from the U.S., it just was so nice for folks to just assume we were a bunch of Americans running around doing what tourists do. They did not behave as if they were afraid or expecting poor treatment from us. It was cool. I (Rob) learned enough Thai language to get us around. That was fun. I don't remember much of the language except how to say hello and few other things. Deanne tried these foods that we thought were exotic such as various bugs. We traveled along the streets of Bangkok and tried foods that were being sold to natives of Bangkok, not to tourists. This was fun, too. No matter where we went, people treated us well. It helped a lot that I spoke some Thai when we went off the beaten track.

Probably the oddest experience was that while we were walking down a street looking for stuff to buy for our friends and family, we witnessed the strangest split. On the left side of the sidewalk was a bunch of tourist trinkets. On the right side was a bunch of guys hawking us for strip clubs and sex clubs. It was so odd to see children with their parents avoiding the hawkers, but looking for trinkets. Again, I was treated like an American who had money. No biggie.

I have to tell you about Koh Samui. Deanne and I landed on that island during low season and without hotel reservations. We got to the beach on the non-tourist side of the island, then just started walking until we ran into living accommodations. It was so cool to encounter a place and try to negotiate prices. In the year 2000, we found a place where the un-airconditioned huts were only three feet from the beautiful white sandy beach. Directly next door to these huts ($7 per day) were air conditioned huts on stilts ($30 per day). Like typical Americans, we stayed in the air conditioned hut. The French guy living in the $7 a day hut next door laughed at us, conversing with me in French. I regretted that my French was a bit rusty, but Europeans know more than one language so well that it is embarrassing. Anyway, I highly recommend Koh Samui. Nice place, especially during low season.

After about 10 days of traveling, we left. I looked out the airplane window and almost began to cry. I could not believe how comfortable I felt there. I have always felt like I have a little Thai in me, somewhere deep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0783s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb