Whats the Capital of Thailand? BANGKOK!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 12th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello All,

After Singapore I made it safely to Thailand. I have been here now for over a week so I guess I have a lot to tell you about. When I First arrived in Bangkok the airport was an adventure. As soon as you pass immigration there are people literally pulling you asking you if they could drive you. I knew the deal that these were the guys that would screw you over so I pushed them away and made my way to the taxi rank. Once in the taxi the driver held up a sign that said “No meter for 350 bhat flat fee” - it was rush hour and the hotel info said the taxi would cost 400 bhat So I said ok. Well the driver spoke no English so getting to the hotel was an adventure because I had no way of knowing if he knew where to go. About half way threw the drive he turned off the road and went down these alleys and I though to myself - This is it I am done for, because these alleys were slums to say the least. But in the end he got me to my hotel safely. However I did find out later that night that had I used the meter it would have been half the price. But at the end of the day 350 bhat is only $10.00. Once at the hostel I vegged out for a while and then met up with 3 English guys who were really cool and had already been In Thailand for 2 months. I hung out with them for the next 2 days, not really doing much of anything except a little sightseeing and a lot of drinking. Bangkok is just like any other city except it is so poor and dirty. The smells there are unbelievable. One minute you will pass a street food vendor and it will smell so good and the next you will get a whiff of the most foul sewer smell (IT made me gag every time I smelt it).
After the 2nd day I met up with another volunteer that was staying in my same guesthouse and headed to the volunteer headquarters in Chaiyaphum (Northeast Thailand). For those of you that did not know my first month in Thailand will be spent volunteering in a school teaching English. The name of the organization is Volunthai if you are interested. We made are way to Chaiyaphum which was a 5 hour bus ride we got VIP tickets which cost us 314 bhat= $10.00. This was the best bus I have ever been on. The seat where like the ones in first class for plans. The Ride there was good I just chilled out and watch the city fall behind us and the rice patties emerge. FYI - There are a LOT of Rice patties! Half way through the bus ride the road disappeared and it became a Dirt road. This made me a little worried but after a mile or so the road came back and soon after we got to Chaiyaphum which is a fairly big town. We met up with the Family that runs Volunthai and spent the night with them. They were extremely friendly and their house was really nice. That evening we had a massive thai meal. Then we had a quick thai culture and language lesson. Then we found out where we where going and what the deal was with our home stay. I will write a new entry soon with details on the first week at my home stay. GET READY TO LAUGH.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



12th June 2008

You should be used to sewer smells with a family like ours!
12th June 2008

How did you pass 8th grade grammar with Mrs. Vulcan??? Just kidding, but seriously. What is the currency there? You used bhat, is that short for something or their form of money? Good post, load some pictures. Looking forward to details on the home stay.
16th June 2008

haha so awesome. i have no other comment.
17th June 2008

WoW
Hey this is the first time i read your blog and i live in Bangkok. Volunteering is very interesting. I wish I could teach English for children and ppl who were affected by the Tsunami down to the south one day. Keep rockin' and i think in the very centre of BKK, it doesn't smell much hehehe like in the mall =] Enjoy ur trip in Thailand.
28th June 2008

Happy Belated Birthday
Dear Darragh: First of all Happy Belated Birthday. I was keeping up with your blog pretty regularly until we went on vacation - you were not posting as regularly as you are now. My first comment is those children look much neater in their uniforms than you used to in yours! I am so very proud of all you are doing and especially your heart to help those who are less fortunate than you are. I will give Ben some money to give to Hannah to forward on to you - it won't be much, but every little bit helps. I am going to forward your blog to Mrs. Pearson, I think she will get a kick out of it. Can't wait to see you in person. Remember I will make anything you want plus a lot of rice on the side, ha ha! Love and miss you, Mrs. Grannan

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb