Lumphini Park and a new watch


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 11th 2008
Published: May 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Al and TrinaAl and TrinaAl and Trina

It was great to have some girly fun with Al.
I've been in Thailand for 11 days now... and it already feels like my last day at work was a lifetime ago! I've definitely got into the travel swing of things. I never know which day it is and I'm enjoying late nights and even later mornings!

Last weekend (or was it the one before that!?) I received an email about a job in London, asking them to phone them to confirm interview attendance... I foolishly phoned them immediately (not realising it was Saturday) and kept checking my phone for missed calls ALL WEEKEND! On the Monday I realised what an idiot I am! Luckily, they didn't hold my stupidity against me... the interview is over the phone tomorrow (yes I triple checked and even looked up the time zone difference!).

Over the last couple of days (let's not stress my brain by trying to work out WHEN exactly) I've had the pleasure of hanging out with Miss Alethiea. Al (a friend from Melbourne, who now works in Singapore) was on a work trip to Bangkok. We had plenty of fun getting pedicures and massages...though my toenails are a little too short now! Oh well... apparently humidity makes them
HUGE monitorHUGE monitorHUGE monitor

AAAHHH! This beast definitely got my heart rate up.
grow fast, we'll see!

Yesterday Yuda and I went to Lumphini Park. I really enjoyed Lumphini Park. It's an excellent place for people watching and extremely clean (for Bangkok anyway). There are plenty of police officers around (we saw one shoo a sleeping man of a park bench), heaps of cleaners... and dogs, cats and smoking are all banned. Even though the lakes are just as green as the grass (very very green!) it's a nice place to chillax (as Irene would say). I was having a great time chillaxing by the lake, until suddenly an ENORMOUS monitor (no not a computer screen) swam out of a drain and into the lake, right in front of us. I had a minor freak out because at first i thought it was a snake. - If it WAS a snake, it would have been at least three metres long (going by the size of its head)... but Yuda assured me it was some type of monitor and ONLY one and a half metres long.

After the park we went to Central World Plaza (one of many enormous shopping centres), where we saw Ironman (two stars) and I bought myself a new Burberry watch as a farewell gift from my colleagues from Melbourne Health! I like it a lot! It isn't the Hermes of my dreams (which would have set me spiraling into debt) but it's lovely all the same. So yay for my new watch, and thank MH friends!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

My new watchMy new watch
My new watch

Thank you, thank you! I like it a lot!


11th May 2008

monitor
OMG! that monitor freaked me out! and it was only on my monitor...does monitor actually mean lizard??
18th May 2008

I think it's a type of lizard... somewhere between a gecko and a dragon! But yes, it was seriously scary!! Tomorrow I say sawadee kah to Thailand (yes, you would say sawadee crap).

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb