Koh Tao bliss


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
May 17th 2008
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone... due to access issues and popular demand (well really... for you Ash) I've made all my travelblog entries public. It's a little disturbing that anybody can read them now... but I will get over it!

Yesterday we returned to Bangkok after a great few days in Koh Tao, in the Gulf Coast. It is a gorgeous place and I wish I could have spent longer there... and also had more time to explore other islands too!

The beaches are nice, the water is very calm (except for the boat ride from Chumphon... where I ended up quite green) and there is plenty to do... although I opted to do very little!

On the downside, everything costs twice as much as Bangkok (but still cheap compared to Australia)... it rained a bit (not too much), and I was bitten by something horrible.

Sairee Beach is the main tourist area... and it is a bit like a more expensive version of Khao Sahn Rd, by the beach. We stayed in this area... and I regret it. It was still really good, and the beach is very nice... but it would have been great to get away from tourists who make me ashamed to be a tourist! Eg. The girls walking down the street, pimped up with very short skirts and very small tops, playing TERRIBLE rap (or something) music out of their mobile phones everywhere they go.

Next time I'll stay somewhere else! ...perhaps the beautiful resort at Jansom Bay (in my dreams). Jansom Bay is really small, but it's BEAUTIFUL and there are tropical fish everywhere. The bay was almost deserted (even though it is surrounded by the resort... which also seemed deserted) and it was a great place to swim and relax.

The biggest problem I had in Koh Tao was my allergic reaction to something that bit me. I don't know what it was... the doctor tells me it was probably something in the water. I developed a hideous, huge, red, itchy rash on the back of both my legs... and my sinuses went crazy too, there has been a lot of sneezing and generally feeling less than average. I went to a doctor here in BKK and my arsenal of creams and antihistimines seems to be helping. The main reason I went to the doc is because I've had stomach ache
That's me!That's me!That's me!

I was quite proud of myself after I swam out to that raft (it really isn't far... but it was scary!) in Jansom Bay.
and queasiness for the last few days. Apparently I have a stomach ulcer... I must have eaten too many pineapples and chilli dishes! Now I have two different pills and a medicine that tastes like mouthwash to make me better.

Now it's time for me to get better and enjoy my last couple of days in Thailand - I just had an excellent pedicure (I'm sure I'm at least 2cm shorter now) and a manicure and one last Thai massage are definitely on the cards.

PS. Again... for more photos see my facebook album.
PPS. Keep the Melbourne news coming!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Turtle on Turtle IslandTurtle on Turtle Island
Turtle on Turtle Island

Koh Tao means turtle island. This was as close as I came to seeing any turtles. Mae Hed Beach.


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb