I Only Go Overseas for the Hospitals


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 28th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So it's been nearly 24 hours since I was released from the hospital and what a difference it has made. I'm still not back to my usual self but I'm getting close. I took today off from school again to rest up a bit more and to get back up to speed with my planning and hopefully tomorrow I will start going to school again. So today I'm just hanging around and being a bum while I still can and I'll do a little work so I'm ready for school for tomorrow.

As for my overall stay in the hospital, outside of it being an extremely depressing experience, the staff there took excellent care of me. They admitted me Thursday morning with severe acute tonsilitis and they wanted to give me fluids and antibiotics intravenously because I could barely eat or drink on my own. The doctor saw me daily and kept me updated on what they were doing to me. The nurses came in every few hours to take my blood pressure and temperature and to give me any medication they weren't giving me through the IV. All the nurses, except for one, had enough English to be able to communicate with me and tell me what they were doing or needed from me and such. Pretty much all they needed to say was normal or fever after they took my temperature but there were one or two nurses that would talk a little more which was nice. The hospital had an international affairs liaison who visited me everyday to let me know the status of my health insurance and to let me know that if I were leaving the country immediately, that I was safe to fly. The food at the hospital was usually disgusting (it was a Sodexho run cafeteria - the same company that does the food at TCNJ) but some of it was ok and even if it was disgusting, it was food so I ate what I could. So overall the hospital experience was good because it go me healthy but was the most boring 3 and a half days I've had in a long time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My bathroomMy bathroom
My bathroom

There was also a big shower in there


29th January 2008

You can run but Sodexho will find you!
Haha I love that Sodexho's in Thailand. Hey man Sodexho is good eats. Do they do Thai as well as they do American here on campus? Glad you're starting to feel better man.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb