heading north


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 2nd 2007
Published: December 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Keen on getting to Chiang Mai, I went to the train station and bought an overnight ticket in the sleeper coach for 770 baht. I went back to the hostel to check out and ran into Robynne, who agreed a massage would be a nice diversion. I thought an hour long foot massage would be relaxing, but it ended up being pretty painful... The entire thing wasn't bad, but I was definitely clenching my teeth through parts. We then headed to a BBQ at Kors' place (he was feeling better), and then I headed to the train station. I sat next to an older American man who claimed he was a pilot, which I thought would be a conversation point and he could be alright. My bad, as he turned out to be a total drunk. He was mumbling, dropping everything, and just being generally strange. He was drinking, which probably explains it, but I watched him at one point during the night cough, hawk up a huge loogie, and try to spit it into the aisle. As if this wasn't disgusting enough, the spit didn't reach the aisle, and landed on his shirt. He then, still asleep, wiped it onto his hand and then onto his face. Absolutely disgusting. Aside from that, the train ride wasn't bad, even though it lasted 14 hours. I was able to sleep for 6 or 7 hours, so I couldn't complain too much. The eggs in the morning definitely left something to be desired, but I was almost in Chiang Mai so I wasn't complaining too much...

There are more Bangkok pictures here, as I finally learned to use the file uploader thing...


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb