Jim Thompson's house


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 1st 2007
Published: December 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had my new friend Robynne (whom I had met the night before, outside my hostel) wake me up early since I had no alarm clock. I grabbed a quick bite, and decided to go see Jim Thompson's house. It doesn't seem like meandering through some old guy's house would be especially interesting, but this turned out to be an extremely interesting and peaceful place. Thompson was an American who revitalized the Thai silk industry in the mid 1900's, and then mysteriously disappeared. His house has a beautiful garden and is decorated with many Thai and Chinese statues. I spent a few hours there, and returned to the hostel again. I watched Donnie Darko with Robynne and some others (weird movie!), grabbed a quick nap, and then joined Robynne again for some drinks and dinner. We ended up in the Middle Eastern part of town, where we ordered dinner and then a couple shishas afterwards. One of the guys we were with, Kors, began to have an allergic reaction to some of the sesame seeds in his food and had to go home, and it turns out that was a good decision because his airway literally started to close about a block from his house (where he had medicine). Scary thing to happen.

We went back to "Cheap Charlie's," a little bar in the alley next to Suk 11. I had a few drinks there, resisted the urge to go out, played a few games of pool, and went to bed. Chiang Mai the next day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb