Touchdown in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 23rd 2007
Published: September 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Changi AirportChangi AirportChangi Airport

Just to prove I went there - prettty standard. Nice and clean though - true Singaporean style.

Sa-wad-dee krup

(Hello)

The multilingual amongst you will realise that yes, I am now in Thailand!!!

I landed on Sunday after passing through Singapore Airport for a few hours, which was fun. I was, however, fortunate enough to have a row of 3 seats to myself on both the Dubai-Singapore and Singapore-Bangkok leg, which was brilliant. Though the fact that I had two flights meant I had one 7 hour flight (not really long enough to sleep properly) and a 2 hour flight with a 2 hour wait at Changi Airport. As a result I was pretty jaded when I finally arrived in BKK.

Also, one thing that annoyed me a little was when I was desperately trying to get comfortable on the seats (3 seats still = curled up foetus sleep) my mini TV seemed to knowingly show adverts for their new First Class. With a beautiful stewardess helping some smug bastard to a fully flat double bed-seat thing in his Givenchy designed sleeping suit in his private cubicle, after some lovely champagne. I just kept thinking, I know I'm poor, thanks.


Just passing through the airport exit doors I realised that this would be the
Bangkok HospitalBangkok HospitalBangkok Hospital

My home for the next few nights
end of hassle-free travel for at least 4 months. I have to say that Singapore Airlines are awesome - no one complained about my perhaps higher than usual consumption of Singapore Slings on the way out (failed sleep inducing attempt) nor my constant badgering for water / general attention. Therefore I highly recommend.

Anyways, sure enough, with in 2 mins the badgering/pestering/general nuisance began. The fact that I was standing there with a humongous backpack on didn't help. It's like a giant taxi magnet "Taxi Taxi Taxi, special price for you" etc etc etc. Anyways, I skipped that and opted for the "Public Taxis" which means they run on a meter and are thus hopefully better value / easier. I realised you trade this for a lesson in aggresive / bordering insane driving with a side helping of "How to hoot your horn at everyone and get away with it". That was fun, especially the lack of seat belts and the drivers preference for the radio/phone/paper/basically anything but the road. I figured I was on the way to the hospital anyways, so I'd be alright.

The hospital I hear you ask??? Well, that's because my dear friend Mr.
Who's This???Who's This???Who's This???

Poor old Rob! I have belittled his wound a fair bit, it's actually rather serious!
Robert Smith has had a "little" accident involving only a few operations and a skin graft. Still every cloud - He has his own room complete with sofa bed, TV and DVD player = free room for Greg!

On arriving at the hospital I was saluted, my "Wow, they think I'm important" bubble only lasted 10 seconds when I watched everyone salute everyone - almost Monty Python-esque! Up the elevator to room 402 and that's where I found poor old Robert.

After a little man-love and general 3 month catch-up, we were back to our usual antics. I decided to take him walkies - it's good to get him up and around, he's quite fond of the outside! So we seat-belted him into his little wheel-chair and we were off... to the Seven-Eleven across the road. Along the way I decided it would be funny to leave him places... queue "Rob in Lift" and "Rob by Pot Plant". Hilarious! Well, it was at the time. Navigating a 13 stone, 6ft3 guy in a wheel chair with his leg strapped in can also be pretty amusing - especially in the little Thai restaurant we ate in. I had deep fried noodles, with deep fried prawns and deep fried something else. People here like fried stuff.

Finally after such an eventful day it was time to head back to the ranch and catch some sleep.

A fun day all round.




Next time downtown Bangkok.....

See You Later!

xxx

Hong-Nam-Yoo-Tee-Nai

(Where is the restroom?)


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Let's Play with the man in the wheelchair 3Let's Play with the man in the wheelchair 3
Let's Play with the man in the wheelchair 3

I dont think the nurses like me anymore
Mmmm... CoffeeMmmm... Coffee
Mmmm... Coffee

I'm incredibly good looking


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb