Arrived


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 9th 2007
Published: March 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, my first post. I'll start from the beginning.

Long haul flights are painfull. 11 hour flight, the TV's were not working corectly you had to try and catch the start of a film - not that it mattered as you could either have the volume so it deafened you or you couldn't hear it. Impossible to watch. Got exactly zero sleep and by the time we arrived I felt that I had just been beaten up by a thousand midgets. Got through customs easily which I was supprised at as I had no visa and just a printout of my flight out but they were not bothered with it all and just let me wandered thru. Waited to collect my bag, after waiting untill all but three bags had been collected and watched them go around three or four times I concluded that they were not going to turn into my beautiful backpack no matter how much I wished they did. After further investigation and many Thai women laughing at me (which seems to be a trend) I discovered my bag was still in Heathrow. Sweet.

Then after much walking around a very impressive yet huge airport I found a bus. After talking to a few more thai women in charge of the tickets and again lots of laughter from them I decided that was the bus for me. I tried to find out what stop to get of but their English was just marginally better than my thai so they circled a couple of things on my map and I chanced it on the bus. I fell asleep a few times on the bus (shame I couldn't on the plane), I did notice that Bangkok is weird. Shacks next to skyscapers and all sorts, there seems to be no sort of structure to this place. I sat on the bus, had no clue when to get off, thought I'd stay on till it started to empty then investigate the area. But got very lucky and passed my hotel so simply got off at the next stop. Woot.

Didn't do much else, tried to speak to the people at reception about my bag but they just seemed to do a lot of laughing again. Had shower etc, pretty good room and facilties. Slept for an hour or two, switched on the TV and to my supprise and delight Utd were about to kick off. Well chuffed.

Yesterday (Thursday)
Only had another hour or two sleep before breakfast. Which was weird, random meat and rice were on offer but I passed on that (who would eat that at 8am?!) I had a tradional Thai breakfast of pancakes and weird bread stuff, and no dad it wasn't toast. Didn't venture to far from the hotel as in jeans and had no suncream. Tried to find some cream but no luck and I just keep getting pestered by people. Will elaborate latter as low on time....

My bag turned up at 11pm minus Ricks flip flops, who stole them I do not know.

Today (Fri)
Sitting, waiting for the MBK to open.

Advertisement



12th March 2007

hey
Hows you? i only just got your email, sounds so cool what you are doing, i am so jealous. u will have 2 keep an eye out for chris cornell and mark lloyd as they are in thailand at the moment. how are you getting on with the foos out there? do they sell tescos finest cookies? aaron
15th March 2007

Hey dude. Will keep an eye out for them, rather large place though so doubfull I'll see them. No cookies :( Found a Tesco's but no cookies. Whatta jip. Starting to broadern my horizons on the food front tho.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb