so this is the end


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 14th 2007
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After a simply phenomenal few months I will be heading towards the Suvarnabhumi Airport in four hours to start my long trek home. I'm covered with mosquito bites, bruises, a tan, and as what has gotten to be a usual thing, a thin layer of dried sweat. The last few weeks have been really nice down south in Railay and it was a wonderful way to cap off a really good experience. It's been almost three months since being home and I am preparing myself for something like a seventy degree difference in the temperatures. I fully expect that the cold prarie air is going to hit me like a brick wall and leave me gasping for air. It will be a nice homecoming.

Now the question I am posing myself right now is do I sleep for a few hours and get up and feel like garbage? Or, do I stay awake until i'm on the flight out and feel like garbage? I'm going to feel like trash either way so perhaps i'll amuse myself by reading back issues of Gurmet magazine and cut out recipes I would like to try. Who am I kidding, i'm going to be asleep in a matter of minutes.

While I was down south in Krabi I did some fear facing by way of epic hikes through mosquito infested jungles to find a lagoon. The hike is described in the lonely planet guide as "not for the vertigo inclined". Unfortunately I get hit with vertigo like a shovel to the face at times but for some reason this hike was an exception. The cliffs were steep and mud covered. My white shirt was stained by red dirt and sweat, and the times I had to haul myself up on a rope up a fifteen foot cliff left me terrified and clinging to the side of the wall on the verge of tears dripping sweat like I had a faucet on top of my head. But I did it and I didn't die once. Take that world, i'm suddenly as tough as nails. Wha happen...?

So here I go again on my own one last time. I'm all paid up. I have just the right amount of cash money for #1- the taxi to the airport. #2- the departure tax (five hundred baht...what a gip). And #3- Canadian dollah billz for sushi and tea at the Vancouver airport.

This is my last entry and this monstrosity of a blog will most likely be deleted in a few days but mad props to whoever took the time out of their busy schedule to check out what i've been up to. I apologize for the general lameness of all the blog entries but i'm just not that clever.

So long internet.

Advertisement



14th January 2007

Wha happen?
Hey darcy. So what day to you actually get to Regina? are you staying in Vancouver for awhile? It is freakin cold here...stay away as long as you can.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb