River Tour and Wat Pho


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 11th 2007
Published: January 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I woke up really early this morning since I went to bed so early the night before. Fighting jetlag is something I really don't like. All I had was my Lonely Planet Thailand book that Andrew gave me for Christmas and I headed out to see Bangkok. I decided early on that not having a map probably wouldn't be the smartest. But I managed with the maps in the lonely planet book, even though they only have big streets on them.

I ran into this woman, who I later figured out is a complete phoney. She told me about the river tours and I was interested so I followed her. At the time I really believed her, but know I know I was scammed. The river tour was awesome, so I don't really care that it cost me almost as much as 2 nights in a hotel!! Okay, I care a little. It was my first full day in Bangkok and already I was getting scammed.

After that encounter I went to see Wat Pho. It is a pretty cool temple with the largest recling Buddha. I guess it symbolizes Buddhas death, I overheard that from a tour guide. I will post pictures later when I figure out how to. The surrounding temples were pretty cool too. As I was walking I walked past the Grand Palace and another famous wat but I really just wanted to go back to my hotel room and relax. Being out in the sun all day and walking really drained me.

On my way home I stopped at a tour place and signed up to go to Koh Samet. The most popular and close island to Bangkok. I hung out at Khao San Road and went to bed early.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb