Studying in Taiwan


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan
March 12th 2010
Published: March 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=uOdPImYxBQw][youtube=EhuNU8gMomg][youtube=kNqgNJLPscQ][youtube=bmdHvRxsty0][youtube=fBfY_Oyj6xw][youtube=pjJQck_2Ygc][youtube=_9N8cs9FDbU]
Giving lecturesGiving lecturesGiving lectures

Like my lab coat??
This month, I'm studying in Tzu Chi Buddhist Hospital in Hualien, Taiwan.
To practice Chinese medicine in Taiwan, you must first become a medical doctor (MD)
So you can become a gynecologist, an internal medical doc, a chiropractor, and yes, we have all these, and so much more!
In medical school, you can choose a major. These guys have chosen Chinese Medicine as a major, and practice that.

So I'm working with medical/Chinese doctors. Wow!

The training is going both ways.
I've been put in charge of training the new medical students that come here to learn TCM, and also the doctors are wanting me to give lectures in certain topics.
And then of course, I learn from the doctors as they treat their patients.
Sometimes, patients ask me to treat them, and that is always fun, too!

The last three videos is me training the doctors on Five Element acupuncture. Things that my mentor taught me in Colorado.
Enjoy!

p.s. My Chinese is getting better...


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Dr. KoDr. Ko
Dr. Ko

Is the chief, and I love interning with him! He knows his herbs backwards and forwards, and does acupuncture and chiropractic, too...
SishencongSishencong
Sishencong

I did a little acupuncture on Dr. Lin while he was doing rounds. Sishencong is a great (4) acu points.
Teaching acu pointsTeaching acu points
Teaching acu points

You can't see it, but I'm pointing to some acupuncture points on my arm.
Here is a head.Here is a head.
Here is a head.

Pointing to the points. Can anyone guess which meridian I'm lecturing on now?
Which meridian is this?Which meridian is this?
Which meridian is this?

You can see on the bottom left, they are video taping me. How cool! For future students when I've left, they said.
Learning from Dr. WuLearning from Dr. Wu
Learning from Dr. Wu

She is super cool, watch our video! We have similar perspectives on acupuncture, or should I say our Shifus (mentors) have similar perspectives...?
8am morning lecture8am morning lecture
8am morning lecture

Yes, we learn even when we are not treating patients!
Here is a head.Here is a head.
Here is a head.

Pointing to the points. Can anyone guess which meridian I'm lecturing on now?
pony-tailpony-tail
pony-tail

My hair is getting so long, I can put it in a pony-tail, and it forms this cute big curl! Wow!
WOW!WOW!
WOW!

Check out this sexy tongue~ Can anyone guess what this person has?
Lecture on Emotional TechniquesLecture on Emotional Techniques
Lecture on Emotional Techniques

These doctors were so receptive to my lecture on using acupuncture to heal emotions, and started to do some of the techniques on the patients!!
Agressive EnergyAgressive Energy
Agressive Energy

Behind me are the AE points... in Chinese. Can anyone read this???


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb