Kids....your either teachin 'em or being one!


Advertisement
Taiwan's flag
Asia » Taiwan » Kaohsiung
September 24th 2006
Published: September 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The children at Wun-Hua Elementary have to be some of the greatest ones I have had yet in a class-I still can't decide if I enjoy them so much because they can't correct me when I teach them something wrong, like many smart a$$es like to do when I am teaching at home...or the simple fact that they enjoy learning and want to learn. I can sing, dance, laugh, cry..ok so not all of the listed---but I can do many silly things to get my kids' attention and get them focused on learning English-we have had some pretty halarious "Telephone" lessons-"Do you like to play ball?" can easily be transfered into "You like ball." I know it's not the best to have "favorites" in class but when you have some chunky monkeys how can I resist. I also have some pretty amazing kids who do a great job with helping me translate and get others to participate----and I can laugh as I bring up candy as rewards for games. WATCH OUT you will be attacked when letting the kids pick their piece----just throw them out--much safer. It's always a great morning when I hear "Hello Teacher" five times before I make it up the first flight of stairs.....the first week I didnt even get a "Ni Hua." Oh the wonderful world of Teaching English in a foreign country!!!!

I had a wonderful weekend in Hsinchu with Holly and Jason and Paul and his family...Mike and Rachel were supposed to grace us with their presence but instead they were in "lock down." We sure missed them!!! We pretty much did nothing but laugh like kids, eat, play with the amazingly handsome baby..and drink a few beers!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb