The dreaded leeches!


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka
January 19th 2006
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

It is time for us to go to the place we have been dreading- Sinharaja Rainforest! Not because we don't want to go there, but because we are scared to death of leeches! The only thing that kept me optimistic about going there was because it is a strict natural reserve, and the area we will be in is only for researchers.. deep in the rainforest.

When we got there, we got out of the bus to go unpack. I have to admit, it was beautiful there. We stayed in a bungalow with a porch that overlooked a river. The river was our backyard and the different animal sounds all around us was cool. The only wierd thing was they didn't have mosquito nets for us at this bungalow.. and we were being bit by a lot of mosquitos!

The next morning, we all put soap on our legs, and 2 layers of clothing on. I think it was psychologically soothing to know that the leeches would have 2 layers to penetrate instead of just 1 to get to our warm blood that they crave so much. Later on, I learned that the leeches don't really go through your clothes even though they look like they burrow into your clothes. Even still, I would still do the 2 layers no matter how hot it was that day! As we were hiking, the leeches were attacking our shoes and crawling up, but all we had to do was shake them off or flick them off. I actually picked up a stick from the ground and knocked them off with the stick. They are sticky animals and I just couldn't imagine touching one with my bare hands. I actually got a cool video of one in action. I'll have to show you guys when I get back! They're fast too! Not slow and sluggish like you would imagine. Anyways, after our morning hike, and reaching the research station, I had enough of leeches for the rest of the morning so I just hung out at the research station instead of going to see the big tree. Laura and I sun bathed in the rainforest together.. it was actually fun!

After the group got back, we had lunch and we hiked back to the bungalow. It was a good hour to 2 hour hike. I didn't get leeched, and after a while I stopped looking for them. It seems that they go into hibernation when it gets too hot. Overall, it wasn't as bad as I thought it was going to be. I wanted to see a leopard so badly or a panther! But they sleep during the day and the chances of seeing one is very slim. You would have to look for them at night. Whatever animals live in that rainforest is pretty lucky. It looked like a fun playground for them, with the rivers flowing and everything.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb