crows and cosmopolitans


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Colombo
February 21st 2011
Published: February 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Can't believe I'm hear on the 27th floor, staying in a spectacular apartment with a wonderful host the Miss Emma. This stylish sanctury overlooks the famous Galle face green and what better soundtrack could you ask for, the chorus of prayer. You can see most of Colombo from here. I'm 5 hours ahead of you, so while your waking up I'm having lunch and when I'm sleeping you are stuffing your face with your lovely homecooked dinner. Talking of dinner I'm cooking tonight, heading to the market to buy local veggies and yummy and unusual fruits, ( I wonder what the sinhalease aquilevent of TWO FOR A POUND DARLING) will let you know....

The flights were in total a speedy 12 hours On arriving at the airport, Billy(as named in the family, William to you ;0)) and I were greeted by our driver with the sign WELCOME MR BILLY AND LUCKY. He couldn't of chosen a better interpretation of my name, because Lucky is very much how i feel here right now. I have this annoying habit of speaking out loud as I blog, do you do that ? I know my dad does. I found it easier to write that way, so I sound like a do when we have our chats(meaning chatting to my firends etc)

My head is pounding from the Cosmo's i drank with Emma and her glamorous friends at I think the Galle Face Hotel last night. The sort of place you could not imagine yourself going in back in blighty without as Emma put it, being arrested or displaced. Atunnign ! decadent and grand. We all egged each other on, as we drank we sniggered like naughty school girls at the sight of a Jorden esque style wedding gown paraded by a dutch(i think) bride, throwing bets in the air such as who could get one of the wedding guests to hang out with us, and my brother won because well this was not in the contracted bet, but shockingly jumped into the wedding photo ha ha ha

the night ended with me in tears, overwhelmed, jet lagged, funny that me in tears(those who know me, know I have the capacity to fill a whole swimming pool with my theatrical blubbing. But you feel bloody great afterwards...now since drying my face I have soacked myself in the downstairs pool, attempting to read a book on budhism, but shamingly spyed and listened in on the other pool loungers. soon tired of that as most of it was in german. They took all the loungers !!!! ha ha ha classic !!!

Do let me know if you wish me to fill in detail a bit more, or I can be poetic if you like xxxx

my brothers getting impatient, so must go and get my groceries, have no time for spellcheck (so sorry spelling police) much love guys and gals much love indeed





Advertisement



24th February 2011

Awesome love. So glad you're having such a wonderful time. I've signed up for this travel blog thing. Would like to go for a weekend to glastonbury soon. On my own I think. Will have to wright something then.x
26th February 2011

Hi Lucky Lucy, Glad you are having a great time. Lots of Love to you and Billy DAD XXXX

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb