Colombo lunch break


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Western Province » Colombo
June 3rd 2010
Published: June 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Am in Colombo waiting for my train to Kandy! I'm in the Galle Face Hotel which is a very fancy and snazzy old colonial hotel. I had a really really good buffet lunch with sooo many of the dishes that i would have had in stamford!! somehow they did seem to taste more authentic and better. I have just spent two nights on the cost in Silver Sands hotel which was very relaxing. I haven't had too many problems with mosquitos yet though which is def a good thing! At silver sands i managed to finish an entire book and spend most of the day either reading or sleeping. The humidity is rather intense however i'm getting used to it more (my body still thinks sweating is a good plan though sigh).

The train from Negumbo to Colombo was rather interesting. Lots of food sellers and beggars. The lady next to me was very nice and offered me some mango she had bought. I tried it, and it had a rather spicy powder on it which produced a rather nice combination of spicy and sweet. I have booked a seat in observation carriage of the train which should provide some lovely views and good photos (I hope!).

I have now taken two tuktuk rides which are very interesting - three wheeled scooters of sorts that have back seats incorporated. They speed past each other and the other traffic at interesting speeds and going onto the other side of the road seems rather common if it'll speed things up!

Next update from Kandy!!

Advertisement



3rd June 2010

Fantastic!!
So great to read your first missive on this exciting adventure - food and all!! Perhaps we'll have a curry tonight to celebrate. Can't wait to see photos - the train sounds amazing. xoxox

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb