Day 5 - Lazy afternoon in Ahangama


Advertisement
Sri Lanka's flag
Asia » Sri Lanka » Southern Province » Ahangama
February 25th 2024
Published: February 25th 2024
Edit Blog Post

Oohhh…. I didn’t sleep so well last night! I was in bed relatively early after the driving around in tuk tuks drama. I really tried to settle in to sleep, but after a couple of hours of tossing and turning, I gave up trying to go to sleep. I decided on watching a series of Golden Age on my iPad to help send me over! The last time I looked at the clock, it was 3am! But at least I then slept until 8am. I guess it’s not too bad, as I actually don’t have to do anything too tiring each day…. Just relax! Maybe it was the effects of the full moon!!!!

Ella hasn’t got a lot of comings and goings today, just one early check out, no check ins; so we can go out for the rest of the day. The plan is to go into Hangama ..,we’ll see!

Breakfast was a good hour or more this morning! Being at the retreat is a personal, but transient experience. We had 3 new people who dropped in for yoga and breakfast.

As a Mum, watching, and listening to Ella hosting the group, really fills me with pride! She is so attentive, informative, knowledgeable and caring. It doesn’t moly warms my heart to see her in her element, in her chosen environment.

When Ella was all done, she called the tuk tuk diver, he arrived to take us 7km west to Ahangama. It’s a beachfront hotel with a pool and bar, similar to yesterday, but smaller. We can spend the afternoon in comfort…. Without getting sand in all of your crevices. Although there is also private beach access.

I love to shop in tat’ shops, and there doesn’t seem to be any! The shops are all very ‘boujie,! Not really my cup of tea. When we arrived, we went into the first shop, Ella bought sunglasses and hair bits, but I didn’t see anything I fancied buying!

We walked over to Dream Seas, which is a hotel! Cafe/ restaurant/ pool. It is free to spend the day there, as long as you use their amenities. To be honest that’s fairly easy to do, it’s so hot, you’re getting drinks all through out the day. It’s like a really beautiful setting, on the beach front. The waves break right against the couple of stone steps. There is a rustic wooden swing hanging from a really tall tree, which allows you to swing out over the water. Visually, it presents as the stereotypical Sri Lankan dream! Sadly, I didn’t take any photos!

As I had a rubbish night sleep last night, as we arrived, I set up my silk throw, got a drink, and settled in the shade for a nap! My problematic ears/sinuses have been ok, but today, I’m struggling a bit. Hopefully, it’s only temporary. Apart from making me feel rubbish, it really affects my hearing. But it does come and go, so I know it will pass.

A couple of Ella’s friends joined us for the rest of the afternoon, which brightened Ella up. She enjoyed a few wines with her friends, which was nice for her as she doesn’t seem to get a lot of time out. The drink flowed for the girls, then the food arrived. I didn’t like mine so I put it in the middle for sharing. I ordered a spring roll, which sounds simple, but it wasn’t quite what I’d expected! I knew it was going to be wrapped in rice paper, but I was expecting it to be fried. It wasn’t, it was just softened, it was like eating fruit, vegetables and salad wrapped in a gelatinous cling film…. For me anyway, but the girls seemed ok with it!

Ella had to be back at Basecamp for 5:30 for the yoga stuff, so her time was limited, we called the tuk tuk to return. On our way, we tried to collect the yoga shala curtains that we dropped off the other day, but they’re not ready? Hopefully, they’ll be ready tomorrow! They are needed to shade the yogis from the hot morning sun! They have been practicing in a different area whilst the jobs were being done (the roof blew off in the high winds last week!) but that room has now been returned to its original use! Honestly, there are no guarantees! Ha ha

The next stop was to get some cash from the ATM, job done!

It’s been another really hot day in paradise, so I’m definitely being careful with the sun lotion and shade! Sometimes, but it’s difficult to keep sun safe.

There was a special Moon celebration yoga class tonight. The whole, ‘Full moon’ thing is huge here. (Poya) Ella booked them all in, then had gone out with her friends. It very well may get messy ha ha, we get on really quite well, but are both always happy with a little time apart too! I stayed in and washed my hair!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



25th February 2024

Looks so beautiful were you are Les. You look at home there hun watering the garden 😂😂have fun 😘
26th February 2024

At Basecamp
H Julie, it’s Basecamp, the place that Ella manages!
26th February 2024

At Basecamp
H Julie, it’s Basecamp, the place that Ella manages!
25th February 2024

Everyday something different
A great lazy day.....pleased you have sunshine..we have had sunshine too...but very cold nights! Till tomorrow's blog.....😊

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0166s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb