Jeju


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
October 14th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Travel to Lava caves, which is a huge tunnel formed by lava. The cave formations are so different from any others I have seen. The floor is very rougha nd wrinkly and the walls have lines along them from the lava flow. There is a large mound where the lava front slowed and cooled. Afterwards I walk back to the bus stop and there are green fields, although unlike the mainland where there are no fences fencing off fields, here tere are low walls made from the black volcanic rock. in the distance are wind turbines set against the deep blue sea. I then head to the dragion head rock on the coast. There are giant black volcanic rocks of various shapes and sizes. I climb over them and try to get photos of the odd shapes and also the pinck clolour of the rock in the water. As i do I slip and end up feet first in the surf. My pants are soaked, but thankl god for Gortex shoes, cos my feet are dry. I also manage to save the camera holding it above my head, but sacraficing my thigh which takes the brunt of the fall.

Next day I chead to Mnt Hallasan, the giant volcano on the island. The hike up was beautifull under the canopy of green, read, yellow and orange leaves. AFter about 2km I reach a boardalk and a grassland. I look back down the mountain sloap and am greated by a magnificant sifght of the ocean. As I climb higher there are hills covered in in autum colour and as I keep looking back the coastline grows and I see more and more of the island and cities below. As a reach higher all of a sudden the harsh grey peak of Mn Hallasan appears and grows with every step. When I reach the top on the hill there is a shelter selling instand noodles. I settle under the mountains peak for my pastry and Jeju nectarines, which are sweet and juicy. The walk continues on through more grassland and then into a forrest of small Korean firs and miniture bamboo which are only a few metres high. Walking along the rocky track I feel like Im walking through a bonsai garden. I then come out ontop of a cliff which I follow. Below is a vallet full of colour and the mountain on the other side has large rock formations sticking out through the patchwork of colour. As the path leads down I end up back under the canopy of colour.

Once reaching the carpark I start my walk to the entrance for the bus stop. A nice couple offer me a lift to the stop. WHile waiting with 2 others a taxi with a passenger in it. They call out if anyone is going to Jeju city. The other s say no, but I decide it would be quicker to share a taxi. Cant buckle up the seatbelt as I cant fiond the buckle, so I wedge the end of the belt in between the seats and hoild on with both hands. As we pass a 60Km sigh the driver speeds up, 100, 120, 130, 140km/hr!!! on a small road, overtaking cars on blind corners. As we overtake one car the bus comes the other way round the corner and the driver is forced to slam the breaks on as we slip back to the correct side of the road. The other passenger reaches for his seat belt, not that it will save his life in a headon with a bus at 140km. I decide the time saved not taking the bus was not woth it. as we get to a Y junctiona nd the driver makes a sharp turn downa road Im shore the bus did not follow on the way up. A few minutes later I realise we are headed in the opposite dirrection to Jeju city. OK now am a little worried am headed away from Jeju city in a car with 2 men I dont know. I size them up and consider my resources and my options. The driver finally drops off the passenger at his destination 30Km in opposite dirrection to Jeju city! I arrive back to Jeju city about 40mins after the bus would have and thankfully the taxi driver tells me no charge, cos I wasnt looking forward to paying for sucha long distance. Next time I will just wait for the bus!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb