From Jeju to Gwangju to Jeonju to Cheongju to Chungju


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea
October 20th 2008
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Was glad to change things around on Jeju and stay an extra night as the next day after my hike on Hallasan (when I was supposed to go on the hike) it was so hazy I couldnt even see the mountain. Went to Sogwipo and visited waterfalls including one that falls into the sea, well onto the beach and then runs into the sea a few metres away. Was sooo tired decided to have an early day.

Next day caught ferry to Mokpo and bussed it to Gwangju and visited the May 18 national cemetery memorial park. By this stage it bwas about 4pm and going on dusk and was hardly anyone there so was very quiet. The museum showed photos and film from the 1980 Gwangju uprising against military governance. Next day went to Wolchusan national park and hiked 8km fromDogapsa temple to Cheonwang bong. It took about 5 1/2 hrs and was very hard going climbing over, under, around, between and through large boulders. Decided to see a Buddah carved into the rock, which was along a narrow rigdge and required some of my rock climbing skills. The path was coverd with autum leaves making it slippery and a quite scarry in places where there was sheer drops either side of the path. The mountains were very different to Soraksan with boulders resting ontop of others, some balancing precariously ontop, but also all the trees were in full autum colour. In some places the path was so steep a rope was provided to pull yourself up. Although it was very strenuous (probably more than Soraksan), it was alot of fun with a few funny signs along the way and a cave which at first appeared to me to look quite innocent, after reading the sign and taking a second glance resembles female genitalia, amazinlgy anatomically so. Then it was up, up and more up to Cheonwangbong peak where I came very close to placing my hand on a small 10cm snake on a rock. A Korean man yelled out just as I was about to crab the rock to pull myself up. I laughed and pointed at the snake and indicated its small size with my hand, 'Baby snake, in Hoju (Australia), snakes this big' and I stretched my arms out. AT the top of the peak I sat and ate my bread role while groups of Korean hikers sat on blakets with containers of food. Apparently not even hiking escapes a full Korean set lunch. One group indicate for me to come over and eat with them but I have to get going. On the way down I go across a footbrigde spanning 2 ridges. I then return to Gwangju.

Next day its off to Jeonju and Najangsan national park. The mountains form an amphithetre around the valley. I first hike to a cave and waterfalls, which arnt flowwing, but I fing anarch made of rock and climb up to it. The pathy is made of loose rock and dirt and its steep and slippery. Taking photos is difficult so I dont stay too long. I then make the hike up Sinseonbong. Its an hour of steep uphill hiking and is very tough going. My calves hate me and despite the tightness and pain and being out of breath I move faster up the mountain. The faster I move, the less time I have to endure climbing uphill. Once ontop of the ridge its a nice hike along the rigde with small climbs to the top of the next peak, followed by downhill hike to the next wridge and then next peak. The trees are thick so getting a good view of the mountains is difficult.

Next day is to Cheongju and a trip out to the huge temple Beopjusa in the Songnisan national park. There are hundreds of hikers and families everywhere. There is a giant gold buddah statue standing 33m tall. Underneath it is a room with another gold buddah and relics, like a museum. There are also a 5 story wooden pagoda and a giant iron cauldron. I really want to hike Songnisan, but dont get to Beopjusa till late so cant do the hike before dark.

Next day I sleep in a bit and catch the bus to Chungju. I am supposed to go on a 10km hike through Woraksan national park but dont get to Chunju and find a hotel till after 11am so decide to go tomorrow. Went for a walk around city instead.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb