My Week So Far!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
August 10th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I thought I would write another blog about my last few days to keep you updated. I did talk to quite a few of you already and I miss you! I am getting a phone very soon as I get my arc this friday! This weekend was not that busy as all I did was some exploring and shopping. On Saturday I woke up and decided to go out for a long walk not taking into consideration the weather! I walked for about 4 hours and ended up walking down along the river to what is called Expo Park. This is a huge amusement park, waterpark and where they have special events. I was also fortunate enough to find the information centre where I recieved a lot of information about what there is to do in Daejeon and general livng tips. There are numerous day trips that I can make and hopefully I will do them eventually. When I was out on Saturday I saw many foreigners. I did have chats with many people including some koreans. I did have to come back to my apartment though because it felt like I was going to pass out. I ended up with a really bad sunburn and sun stroke. Lots of water and sleep was what I needed. I was planning on going to a free concert at expo park, but due to my not feeling well I never did make it. On Sunday I did some shopping for my apartment and for food. I discovered home plus! Now this is almost like a mall with many, many areas to buy things, a huge department store with a grocery section and a pet store, food court...... I cannot even name all the places in this one area. It has three floors and takes hours to go around. You must see the purses here...we all know I love my purses! I was also happy to find a lot of western food. This grocery store has pretty mcuh anything you would find in a canadian grocery store! I also had a lot of fun trying on clothes, they are all so cute but no I did not buy any.

Today was a good day except all my students were super hyper. I have a huge headache tonight due to all the noise. They are all excellent children but sometimes they need to tone down their excitment. They were constantly chasing me down in the halls today...chantelle teacher!!!! and then telling me a million and one stories about their weekend. What a long day considering I had my english department weekly meeting as well for an hour! I was fascinated today when Melinda (another english-korean tecaher) came to school with a really bad sunburn. Hers was much worse then mine! We both had sunscreen on but it does nothing. She had been living in Florida for the past two years and says that the sun is not even this hot there. For lunch today among the usual kimchi, rice and veggies we had a soup that was 'interesting'. It was about 5 different fish cut up including their bones and some type of a soft, white vegatable I have never had mixed together in a broth. It was pretty good minus the bones! I also found it interesting how many teachers kept asking me why we do not hit our children. They said that even in sports if a child does not perform well or complains they are hit with a wooden stick. Maybe that is why they are usually good sports players? Who knows, I just found that very interesting. All in all today was a good day with some wind!! I am in for a busy week with my medical, supper and play date with the korean tecahers, some meetings with students' parents and an outting with my co-worker. As well Saturday is a holiday here, Independence Day, so there are many festivties for that! Looking forward to it all and I will write again soon.

Advertisement



12th August 2009

Your Experience
Thankyou for sharing your experiences, Kirsten, Alison and I are really excited for you. Facebook photos are awesome!

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb