Daejeon, Korea


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
July 12th 2009
Published: July 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Daejeon DamDaejeon DamDaejeon Dam

Korea is really pretty, with lots of low-lying mountains and fog
After a late night flight and some worries about SK customs (the nice man at customs didn't charge me for bringing too much duty-free alcohol), I arrived in South Korea.

Incheon airport is on the very northwest corner of South Korea, and Daejeon is smack-dab in the middle, so it was a 3-hour express bus ride to get to my uncle's place. Daejeon is a medium sized city (1.5 mm pop out of 48mm total, compared to 10.5 mm for Seoul), and it's mostly a residential area. There is a "Techno-valley" that is Korea's equivalent of Silicon Valley, as well as a shopping district that evokes images of Tokyo's Shibuya. Daejeon, and Korea in general, has many low-lying mountains, and often has beautiful fog rising off of it's many rivers and hugging its uneven terrain.

Korea so far has been a smorgasbord of food and drink; my relatives have been really nice about helping me seek out the local delicacies. I've tried the best sausages and pork feet that I've ever had, and I even had the chance to sample insects for the first time: silkworm larvae. They are bearable as long as you don't think of them as insects. The moment I took some closeup shots, I couldn't stomach anymore (look at the eyes!). I've also had some good old-fashioned home cooking which was great, and ordered some cheap noodles (they pick up your non-disposable bowl from your apartment after you eat!). I've also been plied with endless amounts of Korean beer, which is surprisingly nice and refreshing.

Aside from all the shopping, I went on a visit to one of the old presidential vacation houses in Korea. Prior to 2003, the Korean president had numerous vacation houses scattered all over Korea, which were ridiculously ornate. They had golf courses, clay tennis courts, swimming pools, soccer fields, long walking trails, elevators, 250-man armed garrisons, etc etc. This particular one hugged a beautiful view of the river. The 2003 president (Roh Mu Hyun, who recently committed suicide) thought it a waste of taxpayer money and gave up many of these mansions so that local governments could use them to draw in tourists. It was a really nice place!

The best thing about Korea is that I have a full ten days to spend here, which means that I can take it easy. In fact, I'm taking today
Underground Mall pt 2Underground Mall pt 2Underground Mall pt 2

Daejeon has a lot of shopping stores built into underground walkways.
off and spending the entire day inside! My uncle's family has been extraordinarily nice to me as well.

This will be my last post from Daejeon. Next time I post will be from Daegu, which is 2 hours southeast from here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Shopping DistrictShopping District
Shopping District

The shops here are organized into guild-like streets; all the sausage vendors are in one block, and the traditional garment-makers also congregate on one street
Presidential PodiumPresidential Podium
Presidential Podium

Giving South Korea my inauguration speech (note my fobby shirt)
SeaweedSeaweed
Seaweed

So much asian food! (well duh)
Korean Blood SausagesKorean Blood Sausages
Korean Blood Sausages

These were made with real intestines, and were the best I've ever had. So good! Made with intestine, blood, and vermicelli noodles
Roadside SnackRoadside Snack
Roadside Snack

Guess what they are ($1.55)
Silkworm LarvaeSilkworm Larvae
Silkworm Larvae

You boil the silkworm cocoon to extract the most silk, and you eat the worm inside! It looks really creepy up close
Silkworm Larvae pt 2Silkworm Larvae pt 2
Silkworm Larvae pt 2

This was number 20 or so, and after taking this picture I couldn't eat anymore. My aunt would later finish the entire cup herself (and drank the juice!)
Pig FeetPig Feet
Pig Feet

I eat this a lot in the US actually (as with the blood sausages) but they are much better here.
Roadside food standRoadside food stand
Roadside food stand

We stopped by for some food. Our plate of spicy rice cake was $1.55, and appropriately mediocre.
Turtles at the marketTurtles at the market
Turtles at the market

There were tons of turtles at the market.
Rice CookersRice Cookers
Rice Cookers

Sometimes I forget I'm in Korea, and then I see things like this
After the rainAfter the rain
After the rain

After a torrential downpour, the river was spilling over onto the lower embankment and forcing stand-owners to close shop


Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb