Around Town


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Taejon
October 22nd 2008
Published: October 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Helllloo everyone!

So it has been a fairly tame two weeks here in the Republic of Korea (or the Rok - a popular term among Foreigners). Two weeks ago Jonathan and I went to Bososang or (Boso mountain) Fortress. It was on a very beautiful mountain with a wicked view of our town. We spent five hours there. I had exercised some bad judgment by deciding to look for wrapping paper for my mom’s Birthday gift after walking around for five hours instead of before. Jonathan was not happy about having to find wrapping paper in our small town. Thankfully I found a Morning Glory and was able to locate the wrapping paper after some time. Of course I was so tired that I didn’t realize until I got home that the wrapping paper said congratulations and not Happy Birthday. Oops! I am just happy I found any. I really love Morning Glory. They have so much useless crap I don’t need but everything is just so cute.

We went out to dinner on the Sunday with one of the administrators from my school. Eating out here is so interesting; you sit on the floor and share everything (you don’t even have your own plate). The only thing you don’t share is the rice, which is typically eaten after the meal. So because we were sharing everything I got my cold back from Jonathan and in turn I was sick for most of last week. Fun times. I think I am all-better now but I am not counting on it lasting.

This last weekend we did our monthly shopping at Costco and stocked up on meat, bread and cheese, the essentials. It is a nice mix having a Korean lunch (at school) and a western dinner (at home) everyday. We thought about exploring Daejeon (the city Costco is in) but ultimately came to the decision for Jonathan’s sake that we better not because we knew it would end up being me shopping for clothes and Jonathan standing with his arms crossed looking really bored and angry.

On Sunday we walked up another Mountain in our town. We only have one more left in close proximity. Thankfully this last one is so beautiful that I don’t think I need another. There is a pagoda type tower on top of the mountain that gives you a panoramic view. It
787878

Sometimes when I'm on a hike I often want to just get on a treadmill but still be outside, you know?
is stunning. Strangely enough there is workout equipment on the side of some trails as well as monkey bars. We think it is used for training purposes. What a thought though, having a gym out doors. It would be wicked for the fall but the bugs would be pretty annoying in the spring/summer.

We had a foreigners’ dinner last night. There are about 15 of us in town. It is kind of weird going for dinner with everyone because you are all grouped based on being Foreign and not for having similar interests. They are all very nice though and we had a really good time. We left kind of early because I am old and it was a school night.

Well I think that is all. I hope everyone is quite well and excited for Halloween. They don’t have Halloween here, which makes me quite sad because I love cute kids in costumes and free candy but what can you do?

Much love from Korea!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 91, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

66
6

They had all of these balloons up over buildings for the festival. It looked pretty cool.
BososangBososang
Bososang

This waterfall is about as big as the one we saw in Costa Rica....I kid...kinda.
BososangBososang
Bososang

Is this a semi normal picture of me?


Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb