Despondent Disolution


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Suwon
September 24th 2006
Published: September 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ma & MengyuMa & MengyuMa & Mengyu

Taken at Korea University
Today's journey will take us through the week or so mother was here and the past few days. Pictures will be uploaded from the new 300gb external drive I have sitting next to me 😊. Let's take the plunge and drown together in the wonders we're about to behold, or something to that effect.

I'll begin by introducing our new teacher: Rachel. She's been good fun thus far and we had a bit of a welcome party for her a couple of weeks ago. This involved a good deal of drink for some of us... particularly me, who ended up on half price gin and tonic. The conversation went something like this:
"I think I'm gonna go and get some sleep"
*bell rings*
- "From now on we'll have half price gin and tonic"
"May I have one of those please"
*4 hours pass*
"I need to go before I die"

Anyhow, the following Tuesday my mother arrived here looking fairly hellish after 48 hours without sleep. She did however, to her credit manage to get all the way from the airport to Anyang without a hitch. We met at the train station, after she'd called me and I'd
MaMaMa

At Gyeongbokgung
tried to get my 6 year old students to speak to her on the phone. We then went off for a bite to eat and I went back to work. After I finished we made the trip into Seoul (Namsan) Tower to check out the city. We also purchased Matt's new D70s on the way. After returning we had Korean BBQ and then off to bed.

During Ma's stay we managed to spend a bit of time together, we visited various parks, the biggest bookstore around, a palace, a museum, had tea with a few people and took a cruise on the Han river. Ma also managed to take herself around on the subway and in a couple of taxis. We also went to Technomart (an 11 storey electronics store) and went for a bit of a sing in the Norebang.

Since Ma's departure not a great deal has happened, except going to Namsan again with Paul and Hanna. This was a good day out again 😊.

Mengyu also had her school exhibition again, which was great. They sang, danced, displayed their artwork and performed a short play about the difficulties they've had living in Korea, excellent
Boaty GoodnessBoaty GoodnessBoaty Goodness

On the Han River
stuff.

The only other thing is that for those who don't know, I'm participating in a 30 day self portrait challenge. Feel free to browse my shots here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

MaMa
Ma

Note to self: always shoot model from the front :P
Bad modelBad model
Bad model

Some people were just made to be behind cameras
DancingDancing
Dancing

one of the dancers from Mengyu's performance
RubbishRubbish
Rubbish

Rubbish collection in Korea :P
Ma + BirdMa + Bird
Ma + Bird

On the cruise in Seoul
TechnomartTechnomart
Technomart

from the bottom up
WalkingWalking
Walking

Hanna, Paul and I


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb