Bear Camp


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Suwon
July 27th 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So Bear Camp yesterday. It was actually not too bad. Other than it was like 30 above and ridiculously humid...I was sweating more than I think I have ever sweat before. Yup, I was pretty hot.

K, to get started we get all the kids rounded up, get on the bus and go to the camp. We got there, unpacked, looked around for a bit, saw the bears quickly (they did not look very healthy though. One of them looked like it was having severe bowel issues. I wondered what they were fed because they didnt seem like they were doing too good) After that we had some lunch and did some sledding on this hill they had set up.

After that we went back to where we had lunch and one of the guys that was working there came up to our group and saying all this stuff in Korean. He starts handing out what looks like the cookie cracker things, so I'm like hey, it must be snack time or something. He gives me a couple. Then he gives me a few more. Haha, sweet, I get extra. I'm munching away on these things, they taste ok, nothing too exciting. Then a few of the 4 year old students start saying "Teacher, no. Teacher no." I have no idea what they are referring to, so I'm just eating away "mmm...yummy" They all start giggling and just keep saying "teacher no."

We all start walking out. As we are walking out, I notice that everyone still had their crackers in their hands, no one else was eating them. And I also notice that we are walking towards where the bears are. I slowly start to put two and two together...you know, maybe the cookies were actually for the bea.....

Yup. Sure enough. We get to the bears and everyone starts throwing in their crackers to the bears. I'm standing there like oh God, I cant believe I just ate bear crackers......I'm an idiot. Haha....

Well, its been about 24 hours since that incident and I'm feeling a-ok. Nothing irregular has happened to me since then, so I'm thinking I should be fine. A few bear crackers never hurts anyone. Hopefully...

After that classic blonde moment, it was swimming time. The teachers told me the day before to bring a bathing suit. But I only had my bikini and I didnt want to wear that, so I was just thought I would wear my shorts and just walk in the water.

Well, I get in and kids are splashing and then the korean teachers started dunking everyone. The korean teachers here are smaller than me, but they had some skills because they definately got me. Great...I was sweating like crazy...and now I am drenched in kid urine smelling water. What a great day so far... After playing in the water for a while we all got out and the kids changed into their clothes. Thank God I had brought an extra pair of clothes with me, because I was thinking about not since I wasnt planning on getting wet. I changed, but I still reeked...and it was still swealtering, so I was sweating even more.

After that we just had some dinner and had a camp fire and came home. I was so gross feeling and so tired. I had a shower, did some laundry and went right to bed.

All in all I would say bear camp was interesting and I actually thought the whole day was quite hilarious. I'm going to Seoul this weekend and doing some shopping. I also may be going to Japan on Monday as well, but I still dont know. But until then I am expecting some more interesting things to happen.

Luv ya all!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb