My weekend in Seoul


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Suwon
July 31st 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, my weekend was good. My friends from here all decided to go to Seoul to go party. We left here around 11 and was in Seoul around 11:45. I went to Trenas and we got ready there. We met up with everyone around 1am and partied until 5am. Everyone was still going hard (because the bars dont really close until 7 or 8...or maybe even later. I still havent experienced closing time to know for sure. But when I do, I'll let you know) When we got in the cab to go home I was incredibly tired. It hit me like a bag of bricks. I barely made it into bed and I was out like a light.

The next day we decided to go shopping. I was going to get a phone and a laptop, but she needed to buy some clothes for her trip she was going on so we just did clothes shopping. I only bought 2 shirts b/c i figured I should save my money for the phone and laptop. We went to this cute little place for supper...I am in love with Korean food...its good, healthy...but really bad for your breath. Seriously, I could taste the food on my breath like 3 days later. I guess going for Korean food isnt the best date to go on, b/c then there would be no good night kiss..haha!

Ummm...after dinner we decided to go to Itaewon. There are tons foreigners and lots many US military guys. I really didnt like it that much, it seemed very sketchy and just overall not my scene.

Sunday morning we decide to go back to Itaewon to this Canadian bar called Rocky Mountain Tavern to have brunch. Ok, the brunch is only eggs, hashbrowns and bacon, but it was so good! Best brunch I think I've ever had! And for only 7 bucks. After that we got my phone all set up and we were off my buy my laptop.

We go to this place called Techno mart. Its this massive building with only computers, phones and TV's etc. Like Future shop times 30! We go to look at laptops and they all seems kind of expensive. I wanted something under 1 million won. (So under $1200 approx.) We find this one that was on sale for 940,000 won. The guys there didnt really speak English so they called over this other guy who did. The guy was hilarious! The guy who spoke english was actually really helpful and then computer sounded really good, so I decided to buy it.

We're getting it all set up and I was asking about Microsoft office and stuff...and he just said he would put it on for free, since I was so pretty. Haha, smooth... And then all these other people who worked there kept coming over and giving me free things. I got a mouse for free, they gave me a really nice laptop bag for free, speakers for free, and they also gave me more ram that they installed, for free. I got a great deal! Ya it was pretty great. And I actually got the guys # that was helping us b/c he said, "you come in again and you need something, I can give it to you free of charge". My camera is still acting up, so maybe...new camera...super good deal...you never know...

K, after I was all set up we had to rush back to Trena's place because she had to catch the place to China. So we leave, say good bye and shes like "just take the number 148 to Gangnam station, it shouldnt even take 10 minutes and then you'll be at the place where you were when you came into Seoul on Friday. Then just take the same bus back to Suwon that you came in on" Ok, sounds easy enough. I have now found out that just b/c something sounds easy enough, it usually never is easy.

I'm at the bus stop waiting for 148. The bus # 145 comes up and it says "Gangnam station" It crosses my mind that maybe I should take this one because I was pretty sure it was Gangnam station I had to go to. But I figure, Trena knows more than me, I should just do what she says. The 148 comes and I get on. I'm looking for where I should be going and I see this building that Trena told me to look out for. Ok, I figure this is good, we're getting close. The all of a sudden the bus turns down a different street. Huh, is this right? I figure maybe it just goes a different way. Well..20 minutes into the ride and we're going down all these tiny streets...I figure I am on the wrong bus and I probably should have taken the 145. I was thinking whether or not I should just stay on here and hope it goes back around to where I got on, or should I get off and try and find bus 145 somewhere. I just decide to stay on and ride it around till I knew something familiar. Ok..so about 45 minutes later I recognize the stop. I get off and wait for bus 145. So I get on 145 and figure, well now I'm in the free, this will be easy...

I'm on the bus and they usually say what stop it is in English. I'm listening for Gangnam station. They dont say it in English. They said every other stop in English, but I never heard Gangnam. I figured that I must have just missed it, so I get out at the next stop. I'm walking back and I get to Gangnam station. Ok...Teeny Weeny (this store where the bus to Suwon stops) should be right around here. I looked around and saw YBM (this ESL school that I had seen when we got off the bus on Friday night) so I figure Teeny Weeny has to be around here somewhere. Finally after walking up and down the street for like 15 minutes I ask a korean guy "Teeny weeny?" (haha...ok, bad joke...anyways...) I got the drift that I had to walk through the subway and just keep walking. I walk for about 15 minutes through the subway and onto the other side and look up. There is another YBM school. Who would have thought there would be 2 YBM schools within 7 blocks of each other. I finally find Teeny Weeny. And also, the bus stop wasnt even Gangnam, it was the one before. But I guess now I know where to go for next time. Finally, 2 hours later from when I said good bye to Trena,(and she only lives 10 minutes from this bus stop) I was finally leaving Seoul.

Yup, that was my weekend. It was really fun, interesting, and expensive. I am pretty poor now and I only have like 30 bucks cash here. I still dont have a bank account set up so I can only use my Canadian debit cards. But they only work at international machines and I dont know where any are in Youngtong...so I dont really know what I am going to do, but I'll figure it out. Oh..and if I can figure out the money thing I am going to do a bit more travelling around for the rest of my week off.

Hope everyone is doing great!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0634s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb