Aha!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Suwon
July 26th 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have conqueured the cold water showers! Turns out there is actually this knobby thing I have to turn on in order to heat my water...and my floors at the same time. Therefore I have to turn it off again right after my shower or my apartment would be like 5 million degrees. Granted...I like my place a bit on the warm side...but thats a bit much.

I also think I have conquered my washing machine...that is all in korean with pictures that really dont give me any indication of what it might do, and lots of lights. I just pressed some buttons and hoped it worked. My clothes seemed to come out ok, so I think I'm just going to go with it.

I also cooked in my super tiny kitchen as well. I dont have an oven or anything, just this portable gas range thing. Only one burner works and its pretty sketchy...I have brun marks all over my wall. But, everything went ok. My food was kind of burnt and my whole apartment was filled with smoke...but overall I would say it was a success.

Oh! Trena, a girl I knew from Edmonton is living in Seoul so she came down to see me last Sunday. I had to take a taxi to the Suwon train station and I was suppose to meet her at exit number one. Sounds easy enough. Well...so I find a taxi "I need to go to the Suwon train station" I got a blank look, he definitely didnt speak english. Ok, I was prepared for this. I brought a map of Suwon along with me so I showed him "Suwon Station" He still had no idea what "station" was. Ok..bring out another korean book. Looked for translation of train station. Finally after about 5 minutes of sitting in a taxi, we figured out where we were going. Oh good.

I eventually get to the train station. Its really not that big so it shouldnt be too hard to find exit one. I'm standing at the exits, theres no exit one. Huh...maybe I had to go right down to where the trains are. I'm kind of watching what everyone else is doing and it looks like they have to buy a ticket in order to go down to the trains. I really didnt want to buy a ticket but it was like 2 bucks, so I wasnt too hard done by. I get down there, I'm on exit 8 and 9. I look across and see 2 and 3. Ok, maybe exit one was over there. I followed the crowds and made it to 2 and 3. Still no exit one. I go back upstairs to the main part, look around and I still havent seen her. I figured we are the only 2 blondes in this whole place, it really shouldnt be that hard to find each other. And, I still dont have a phone so its not like I could phone her and ask where the heck she was. So...its12:45 (we were suppose to meet at 12) and finally I hear someone yell "Kim!" Haha, I turn around and there she is. Turns out there was no exit one.

We hung out, did a bit of exploring and eating/drinking, watching a movie. It was a good day and good to see a familiar face.

My school is so far really good. The kids...for the most part, are really good. Tons of energy. I need to figure out a way to keep them under control though b/c it takes two seconds of them being bored and I am being bombarded with kids jumping all over me. Its great...

All the other foreigners I have met are great. Youngtong (the area of Suwon I am living in) is filled with foreigners. There are people from Canada, the States, Mexico, England, Ireland...everyone is pretty chill and super nice. We're all going to Hongdae (an area of Seoul) this Friday, so that should be fun.

Anyways, I have to run. Its camp day today. We're going to a bear camp. No idea what exactly that entails, but it should be interesting. Oh and my camera is broken so I cant even take any pictures. I'm hopefully going to get another one this weekend so I can take tons of pictures of everything else.

Hope everyone is doing great!

Kim

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb