Things I've noticed so far


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Suwon
July 22nd 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well I'm 2 days in now. Haha, thats actually kind of weird b/c it seems like I have already been here so much longer. Thats a good thing though because so far its great here!

Anyways, in the 2 days I've been here, these are somethings I have noticed so far.

-There are these tiny ant like things that keep coming around in my kitchen, even though I kill like 50 every day. I'm probably going to find a massive colony of them when I attempt to clean the kitchen.

- It smells like spam every morning when I walk outside my apartment. I actually read in a book that when you are invited over to someones house you are suppose to bring a gift...and an acceptable gift would be spam. Haha, sweet.

- Traffic lights and rule are more of a suggestion than an actual rule. Its says dont walk, but if no ones coming, then you walk. Same goes with cars. If the lights red, but no ones coming, then the car just goes. Its pretty awesome actually. Oh, and there is no such thing as jay walking....you just walk wherever the heck you want. Oh, and motorcycles drive on the sidewalks.

- The beer here is awful. Imagine Coors light watered down. Yup, pretty gross.

-Korean BBQ's are cool. Cook your own meat at your table in a restaurant.

-You can go to a 7-11 type store and buy a small bottle of soju (kind of like vodka....) pop, a pack of ciagrettes and a lighter all for under $6. Oh, and I havent took up smoking, but my friend does...so that is how I know this.

-You can drink wherever you want. On the street corner, in the park, walking down the street. Wherever.

-As of so far, Koreans have been incredibly nice to me. I still have yet to meet one that is rude to me.

-I know 4 words in Korean. Hello, Thank-you, yes and no. I keep forgetting how to say thank you though, so maybe consider that one a word I'm still learning....

Well I think thats about all for now. So far so good and I'm loving every minute!

Hope everyone is doing great!

Luv ya all!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb