I'm finally here!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Suwon
July 21st 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody!
So I finally made it here. Ugh, what a long trip. I am not a big fan of planes whatsoever.
K, so far everything has been pretty low key. The flight and everything was fine. I got to Korea around 5:30pm Thursday and a lady was suppose to be there to meet me. I waited and waited, but no one showed. I figured that I would stick out like a sore thumb considering I was the only blonde, so she must not have been there. Thankfully I had her number so I exchanged some money and tried to use the pay phone. Tried is the main word there. Good thing for friendly taxi drivers. He saw me struggling to figure it out, so he came up and did it all for me. Haha, he was pretty nice. Actually everyone I've met so far has been more than nice to me.

So Gina, the lady suppose to pick me up, was actually on her way, she was just late. She finally got there...we walked though the massive airport and outside. I didnt mention before...but on the flight into Incheon was kind of weird. It was really cloudy but I kept looking out to try and see the city. Before I knew it we were landing! I didnt even know we were close to land, I thought we were still in the air because it was so foggy you couldnt see anything. So when I walked outside for the first time it was like walking into a wall of humidity. Instant sweating. Oh good.

Anyways, we get to Suwon and my director met us at my apartment. At first I thought the building was kind of sketchy, but she showed me my place and its actually really cute. The kitchen is super small. I thought that my house in Edmonton had a small kitchen and a mini fridge. Now the kitchen in the house in Edmonton is actually the size of my whole apartment. My kitchen is maybe a meter wide. Yup, doubt I'll really be cooking a whole bunch. Oh and my bathroom is the sweetest. Its actually like a really big shower. Imagine having a shower with a sink and a toilet in it. My shower head is just hanging right beside the sink and mirror and is hooked up to the sink. Turn the water on in the sink, pull a lever and there's your shower. The only thing that sucked is that I have no hot water. If you know me...you know that I use all the hot water whenever I have a shower and that I hate being cold more than anything. Either this will be a really long year of cold showers or I may just not shower. Or, hopefully I can just get that fixed somehow.

School today was pretty good. There are 2 foreign teachers here. One has been here for years and is actually only filling in for a while b/c he has another job. The other is a 24 year old guy from the states. Hes been here a year and hes pretty nice. Hes actually going to show me around Suwon later which will be nice b/c I have no idea where anything is. And the buildings here are pretty cool. They have tons of writing on them and lights everywhere.

But the school seems pretty good. I guess they had a few midnight runners a while ago...which is really not a good sign, but the one guy who has been here for a year says for the most part its good and its gotten better since they had all those runners. Heres hoping!

Anyways, I'm out. Going to go clean and unpack my room to make it a little more homey! Talk to you all soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb