Of Gin & well... Tonic


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Suwon
November 20th 2006
Published: November 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Greetings and Salutations...

The lord's light shined apon me and forth with it came a well endowed bottle of gin... so here you have my present situation... I'm now forty, female and have a beard...

Phase 1 - Liquid and Discombobulation
Last Wednesday night saw us in the Irish bar (again) for a trivia night... wasn't going to stay too late, but as usual J&T (they misspelt gin) kept me alive and well until 3am when we finished our quizzy action (my team came second... we cleaned up in the English Linguistics round). There I met a rather nice fella from Long Island, we ended up on the same team... turns out he studied comparative literature... interesting guy. I also met an Aussie by the same of Simon, who talks all together too much, but managed to give me the useful information that there exists a company by the name of "Adventure Korea" who do weekly tours for foriegners. This was right up my alley as I needed a break... so I took a trip to Gyeongju this weekend, a fantastic experience.

Phase 2 - Of buses and late nights
Friday afternoon saw the quickest booking of a holiday I've ever participated in. The evening saw a quick tea with Scott and a few drinkies while catching up on a few photo edits. Come 3-4am-ish I decided that the pending 5am wake was getting a little too close and hit the hay... waking at 5 I quickly showered my smells away and threw some stuff in a bag, grabbed my third arm, 3rd, 4th and 5th legs and headed out the door. I made the bus on time and set off for Gyeongju. On our arrival we checked into our ridiculously cheap and wonderfully comfortable accomodation, then headed straight back out to see a few things. These included the Royal Pond (Gyeongju was the captial during the Silla Dynasty), Anapji, the National Museum of Gyeongju, burial mounds of kings and an old school astrological observation tower. These were cool and during this part of the trip I managed to meet Daisii from California, Phoebe from Australia and a couple of others. By the way... being a tour for English speakers, there were Yanks, Skippies, Kiwis, Canadians and even a wee Scottish lass!

Back to the hostel and we rested for 20 minutes before heading out for tea and beverages... then up to the norebang for a song or seventy-five. We finally made it back a few hours later... tired and in need of some shut-eye. The following morning, breakfast convened at 7:30 and we left again at 8:40. First stop was Seokguram Grotto, a buddhist relic site with a view that caused people to walk bow-legged... Then we moved on to Bulguk-sa, the temple whose tower features on the back of the ten-won coin, a wonderful place, recomended for anyone who comes here. Following this we moved to Namsan (not to be confused with the little lump in the centre of Seoul) to have a look at some more Buddhist relics and have a little hike. Then off to a buffet place for lunch and on to the bus home. At the final rest stop myself and Daisii decided waffles (written on the pack as 'Warples,' which I figure has got to be some sort of small furry creature from Russia) were in order and proceeded to consume them with coffee and green tea latte... what a sugar rush... cheers to Daisii for suggesting those!

This brings us to the end of this little chapter in my quest for world domination, see you again soon!

Please remember to check TaintedLife and DPC

Peace, love, cherries and passionfruit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb