Korea open days 1+2+3


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
September 8th 2006
Published: September 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Korea Open - PoomsaeKorea Open - PoomsaeKorea Open - Poomsae

Poomsae - Last Day of Korea Open for Poomsae
The Korean open is an international event, which any country can enter, as well as local clubs.
The standard is very wide - from the developing nations to the more advance nations.

Alot of the countries use this tournement as a practice event for other bigger events. Alot of the countries represented will be competing at the World Cup in Thailand next week.

This year, the open is being held at the Olympic Park/Stadiums, where alot of the Korean Olympics was held years ago.

Korea has bought there A team to fight in this tournement, so it is no surprised that they have dominated proceedings so far. (Not by pure skill, as some of the final matches between korea and other countries have some dubious scoring).

I managed to catch up with the Australian team, and the australian national coach as well. He has been a long time friend and instructor , as I have been teaching for his club for about 3 years now.

The australian a team have had mixed results. We managed to get silver in on the first day, but only from one fighter. We fielded three on the day.

Today
South Africa TKD TeamSouth Africa TKD TeamSouth Africa TKD Team

Duncan, Brian and the Twins - Korea Open
was not so good, with both fighters being downed. Tomorrow will see one of my freinds (Douina) take to the courts for her second international tournement.

The South African team have had mixed results as well, with 2 of there four players not making it past the first fights. 1 Player making it to the quarter finals.

The 4th fighter (Duncan) will be fighting tomorrow.

The event is quite different from the competitions at home. For a start the finals are broadcast live on public TV. There are action replays during the break periods and commentary as well.

Fireworks, music and chants are also a norm at these comps.

I have been sitting with the Pung Seung boys, and we have been moving to where either the Phillipines, Thailand & South African teams have been sitting when they are fighting. It's quite funny to watch the korean kids when one of the countries above is fighting korea, as they remain quite (more to the point, they don't know who to cheer for).

Tomorrow will see the last day competition, as wel as the start of the High School competiton in another part of town (Suwon). I will be going with them on Sunday to watch, so it will be 4 days of watching TKD to inspire me to fight.

I am still however doing morning and evening training sessions, so when I so arrive at these events I am a bit tired (apart from today).


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

A familiar faceA familiar face
A familiar face

Dounia and me - Korea Open
Me & Killa 1Me & Killa 1
Me & Killa 1

Jun and Me - High School TKD Team head - On the bus to Korea Open
Pung Saeng kidsPung Saeng kids
Pung Saeng kids

Some of the boys from Pung Saeng
Team ThailandTeam Thailand
Team Thailand

One of the Thai Junior Team members - Korea Open. I think she went on to win Bronze.
Action!Action!
Action!

Sparring action from Korea Open.
Yes, action replaysYes, action replays
Yes, action replays

Ohh yes, action replays, so you get to see the scoring kick.
Warm up areaWarm up area
Warm up area

Behind the scenes - alot of the teams actually train here too.
Team Thailand - GroupTeam Thailand - Group
Team Thailand - Group

The Thailand Junior team.
Killa 2Killa 2
Killa 2

YES - this kid DID kick me in the head!
More killasMore killas
More killas

Two more Pung Saeng boys
Jun, me and my InstructorJun, me and my Instructor
Jun, me and my Instructor

Jun on my left, my "Instructor" on my right (yes the 16 yr old who taught me some things).


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb