Korea, you gotta see her


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
May 4th 2010
Published: May 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I liked my little blondie title it made me laugh if no-one else 😊

this blog entry is about my trip to South Korea from December 29th to Jan 10th when I went to visit my friend who is there teaching english. This was my first venture into Asia. I flew from Edinburgh to Amsterdam, then Ams to Seoul which was 11 hours......boring when you're by yourself!!

My friend met me at the airport and I was a mess, tired n jet lagged lol 😊 we got the bus to his flat in Seongnam, and he went to work while I slept for a while. That night I was sooo tired but I tried to keep awake n shift into korea time! We went out for dinner with some of bens friends who I hung around with alot when I was there, nice people 😊

New Year was awesome, it's not celebrated as much there as back home because they have their own new year in February I think? But still , went to a party with bens friends most of them were teachers too. Got to see some fireworks over the Han river before going out clubbing. My first new year not in Scotland, and it was weird thinking that as I celebrated the bells at midnight it was only 3pm back home.

Whilst in Korea I visited gyeongbukgung palace, got some photos of it in the snow which look pretty 😊 Speaking of winter, South Korea is rediculously cold in dec/jan. I'm from scotland so I thought I could handle it, but Korea was something else lol!! I was going to visit the DMZ but the snow was so bad I ever got there 😞 but I know I will revisit at some point so no big deal!! I also drank alot, soju is good and cheap! I noticed the koreans like to drink ALOT, puts us bingedrinking scots to shame haha! We went out for a "few" drinks on my last night, but I ended up quite drunk n hungover the next day when I was flying back...worst idea ever when you have ~24 hours travel time including transfers. But I made it home in one piece!

Next travel adventure, Kenya on the 16th of June with Stu. Staying at a beach hotel near Mombasa and going on safari to Tsavo East/West. Back to Africa and I cannot Wait <3


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb