Kid, You'll Move Mountains (or maybe just climb one)


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
October 20th 2009
Published: October 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lisa Lisa Lisa

We brought oranges! Apparently not enough to keep you going for 6 hrs..
A week ago a few co-workers and I met at a relatively early(ish) time for a Sunday morning: 10(ish). We travelled the distance to Bukhansan National Park where we climbed Bukhan Mountain. I would have said we climbed to the top however someone who was with me that Sunday may read this and those who know me know I probably didn't so the truth is we climbed to one of the many peaks. Still, I got a nice view of Seoul!

Bukhansan National Park is just on the North side of Seoul. It took about 30 mins to get there from Daeheung station and there is a convenient bus that takes you from Gupabal right to the entrance of the park. It was the most beautiful, perfect day to climb. The weather is turning a crisp Fall and I can't get enough of the outdoors at this time.

As many other blogs and information on hiking in Korea state: this isn't a sport for the young or weak-knee'd. The average age of a hiker in Korea is (guesstimate) 45. We saw many a-granny and grandpa trekking the rough terrain and jagged rocks huffing and puffing not because they were tired but because we were taking too long and they wanted to pass. It was a trip!

I still can't get over the little soju picnics that we saw as we climbed through the mountains. I can not imagine climbing that with a belly full of pork or soju - gross!

I've done some trekking in Korea before but this was much more do-able. It got a little steep and rocky near the top but there's nothing like resting with some interesting conversation and taking in the sights once you get to the top. I really enjoyed it and felt the workout when it was over. Definitely something I recommend doing while in Korea!

Enjoy the pics! xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb