Israel in Seoul and Free Hugs


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Jongno-gu » Insadong
May 13th 2007
Published: August 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Israeli dancingIsraeli dancingIsraeli dancing

Later we did the Kabbalistic Hokey-pokey

Israel in Seoul and Free hugs


Shalom Y'all from Korea



In an effort to meet new people, I decided to go to a get together with the Jewish community from the Yongsan military post. I found out about this event through the Israeli people I met a few weeks ago. (See previous post) They were having a potluck at the top of a high rise building. On my way there from Pyeongchon, I bumped into another English teacher I met in my yoga class and invited her along. Wouldn't you know I must have bumped into the only Jew in Pyeongchon while I was on my way to this event.
I met a lot of nice people... mostly English teachers and Israelis and a few people from the base. It turns out the rabbi was my rabbi when I was 15 in Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri! The world is small. He recognized me because there aren't too many Natanya Diamants in the world.
We had a fun eating American food (sounds strange doesn't it?) and dancing the Kabalistic Hokey-Pokey, along with a few other Israeli dances.

...and later a free hug in Insadong





Afterward, we walked
JogyesaJogyesaJogyesa

Gearing up for Buddha's Birthday. There will be a huge festival next week. I'm excited.
to Jogyesa Temple to see the temple gearing up for Buddha's Birthday. There will be a huge festival next week and Lantern Parade. I'm excited.
We then wandered around the pedestrian zone around Insadong where we got free hugs. I saw this on YouTube and had to try it for myself. Pretty good! Free Hugs is a worldwide thing... I think it's a great idea!
Woohoo! Life is full of new experiences!



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Free HugFree Hug
Free Hug

Click the Free Hugs hyperlink to see a video about the movement.


Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb