Lotus Lantern Festival


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Insadong
May 19th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post


This is a catch-up blog. Since I wrote this, I've been to the States and back for my sister Lori's wedding... which is a different blog entry.
I went to the Lotus Lantern Festival the Saturday before I left for the wedding. What fun! There were booths and interesting things to see… especially for someone who recently arrived in Korea. There was wonderful street food, arts and crafts booths, and processions of people in traditional dress and a sampling of Buddhism from other countries in the international booths from places like Thailand, India, Tibet, Taiwan and so forth.
Wouldn’t you know, of course, my camera battery died for the first time ever just before the Lantern Parade. The parade passed by with wave after wave of people in various traditional costumes and at least on lantern if not a few. There were huge glowing floats of fire breathing dragons…with real fire, Buddhas, and other fun things. I heard that the parade was supposed to have 100,000 lanterns, and I believe there were at least that many because the parade went on for two hours and I stayed until the end. Still, I got plenty of great pictures of the festival before the parade. For this blog, pictures and videos are better than words. Just click the little film symbols above for the videos. Enjoy…



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Arts and CraftsArts and Crafts
Arts and Crafts

Everyone gets to paint
Arts and CraftsArts and Crafts
Arts and Crafts

I made this traditional paper box
Traditional dressTraditional dress
Traditional dress

The sleeves make a good place for them to store their cell phones.
Oh.....Oh.....
Oh.....

It's a doll made of cray. I used to make things out of cray.
Tibetan monkTibetan monk
Tibetan monk

See video
Me in traditional "colthes"Me in traditional "colthes"
Me in traditional "colthes"

I didn't really fit in the chest area....


9th June 2007

Great blog
This is an excellent chapter. Interesting and well put together. At first the first 2 videos wouldn't work--so I decided to comment to let you know, All the rest was fine. I decided to review the 1st two videos to tell you accurately what went wrong--and they also worked fine! But since I had resolvewd to comment here is. Thoroughly enjoyable.
10th June 2007

Very Cool. I loved the cray doll.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb