Drawing of Korean Man by J. Hans Bakker van Guelph


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul » Hongik
July 21st 2008
Published: July 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Drawing of Korean Man by J. Hans Bakker van GuelphDrawing of Korean Man by J. Hans Bakker van GuelphDrawing of Korean Man by J. Hans Bakker van Guelph

Drawing of Korean Man by J. Hans Bakker van Guelph
Drawing Inspired by Art at Seoul Museum of Art

During my first visit to the Seoul Museum of Art I was so inspired by the drawings I saw that I decided to buy some drawing pencils and I made this little sketch. My mom (in Dutch "Mam") used to take me to the Museum of Art in Cleveland, Ohio, when I was a boy. But I have not drawn anything since I was about sixteen. Now in my dottering (spelling?) old age I have suddenly rediscovered the desire to draw and perhaps paint again. The art work here in Korea really is quite good and in Cheonan I visited a major gallery. There is a great deal of experimental art coming out of the People's Republic of China and some of it is very provocative and stimulating. It is also freeing! When Tim Lenz and I had dinner with Oh Seung you ("Brian") and his friend Jong Su in Seoul last night I showed them my latest effort, a Buddha figure from the Tibet Museum, and they were kind enough not to laugh! I told them about the "Treasures Within" display and the current "Your Mind's Eye Digital Spectrum" display at Seoul Museum of Art (SeMA; www.seoulmoa.org) and as design engineers they were interested. (I myself am not as keen on the Korean Abstract Art, but perhaps others like it more.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb