End of the week posting


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Jeollanam-do » Mokpo
December 12th 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey everybody! ahnyoung ha say yo!

I've been bad and haven't been posting to my travel blog regularly.
I have another blog that I've been using a lot, and neglecting this one. I think I'm going to schedule updates on a set day of the week. How does Wednesday or Saturday work? Why not both. Ok, I from this date forth will try and update either wednesday or saturday if not both days. I suppose if you're in the US that means look for an update on tuesday or friday depending on how late I'm up.
Honestly there's a lot going on in my day-to-day life here in Korea, but I know the people back home and abroad reading this would rather read the good parts. Or at least hear that I'm good and well.

Last night we had a gathering at my place and I met some Koreans and some other foreign english teachers. I'd like to hang out with all of them again sometime soon.
One of the coolest things about being here isn't meeting other Americans, (that is cool though and refreshing after a week of work,) but meeting people from all over the world who are here teaching english too. I had a beer with a guy from Manchester earlier. We were playing a trivia game where everyone puts in 5,000 won to the pot and whoever wins usually gives it to charity. Just last weekend I met some people from Ireland and the Netherlands.
During the week the two teacher crowds don't mingle much, the public schools (daytime) and private schools (me, evening) just work different hours. So it's lonely and quiet during the weekdays I think.
I had an American Tale moment earlier on my way home from work, I looked up at the moon and I think at that time maybe, just maybe some of you were awake and saw the moon at the same time in the daylight.

I was going to avoid travel to other cities until I get my first full paycheck but then I found out how much it costs to travel around the country; by bus it's like 5,000 won to Gwangju the nearest big city. That's less than $5USD, the won has gotten stronger since I got here, so I'm excited. That means for sending the same amount in won home, I'm getting more $USD. So tomorrow I'm packing my backpack and going to go explore Gwangju. I'm going up with another foreign teacher who I've hung out with a lot around Mokpo. I'm comfortable walking around alone all up and down Mokpo, because it's starting to feel like home but I dunno about travelling outside the city just yet.

What's in Gwangju? Well I'm told there's a big electronics mall. It's supposedly the 3rd or 4th largest city in Korea. There are sights to be seen and tastes to taste. It turns out UNICEF is having a huge charity event there, and a bunch of other Mokpo area foreign teachers are heading there. Other than skimming the Lonely Planet guide to Gwangju, all of that is basically all I know about it. I'm definitely taking the camera with me on this trip. Adventure? I think so.

Until next time, take care.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0941s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb