Went to Gwangju


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gwangju
December 13th 2008
Published: December 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A statue in front of EmartA statue in front of EmartA statue in front of Emart

This is me in front of a statue in Gwangju.
Well just as my entry title says, I hopped on a bus today and went to Gwangju. That's a large city kind of north-east of where I'm at. It definitely seems like a bigger town than Mokpo and it should because it is.
There's the 7 story electronics mall which was fairly awesome. I'll have to go back when I have more money haha.
Gwangju has a much larger downtown area than Mokpo for sure. I went with my new friend Bob and we explored a bunch of Gwangju, looking but not finding the underground western stores. They're literally underneath the ground near a subway entrance I'm led to believe. I guess if I find them I could get deli meat like turkey and other western delights that Mokpo is missing.
It's roughly an hour bus ride each way to Gwangju and I'll definitely have to go up there some other time to check it out for more than a day trip. There were a few other foreigners there for the charity event, but we never made it to it. I guess more people showed up than they had expected so there would have been no room for us anyways.
I
A riverA riverA river

Thought this looked cool, it's right next to the downtown area I was walking around.
had a dinner of prawns, hot dog, spam, tofu, these mushrooms, ramyun and vegetables in a soup that you boil at your table. Delicious, now if I could just remember what it was called. We sort of knew the word for shrimp, and then just pointed at a menu and ordered, hoping for the best.
The two of us didn't seem to find the foreigner places and didn't feel like springing for lodging. So we came back to Mokpo.
Tomorrow I'm going to check out downtown Mokpo for fun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

shopping districtshopping district
shopping district

I believe this is in the shopping district downtown where I was walking around.
A lit up walkwayA lit up walkway
A lit up walkway

I didn't go underneath on that road, but it sure looked cool.


3rd January 2009

The dish is called 'budae jjigae' (=army base stew). ;)

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb