Korean Klasses


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do » Seongnam » Bundang
November 3rd 2006
Published: November 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

In Front of PalaceIn Front of PalaceIn Front of Palace

Me in front of a Palace sign in Seoul.
션로 I think that says Shawn Roe in Korean - or Shawn Lo is how they pronounce it.

I've started teaching a couple classes of my own. It's the last week of the session, but my first time with the kids, so it's kind of weird how they're doing it. The kids are either done or finishing up with their parts of the book, and I'm coming in at the end as a new teacher. So I usually just spend the first class introducing myself and getting a feel for the class. But we have to give homework every night, so I have to give the kids an assignment of some sort. It's odd. I made a couple classes write sentences for HW and some write essays. The next session starts Monday, Nov. 6, so I should be able to have a little bit more structure when I get my classes for good beginning that week.

Each class has its own personality and usually the class will have a wide range of ability. Each class is its own living organisms. One class is quiet and I wonder if they understand anything that I am saying. They stare at me with blank looks on their faces. Other classes are very lively and talkative and easy to engage. I think I had my best and worst class yesterday. They were the oldest students I think I'll be teaching (15 yrs old) and they were dead quiet. It was hard to engage them and get them to ask me questions, so I moved on to a story. I had a couple of them read it aloud and they read fairly well. Then I asked them if they understood the story and they didn't say anything. If they don't understand what I'm asking, then there's no way they could've understood the story. So I figured I'd help them out and explain the story so that they could answer the questions in the back of the book for homework. Well I asked a couple questions and they shyly answered all of them perfectly. They knew exactly what was going on. This class is going to be tough because they are so quiet, yet fun and challenging at the same time, because I'm going to have to get some more difficult stuff for them to spark their interest and push their limits.

So far, so good. It shouldn't be too difficult overall, but starting off is naturally a challenge feeling out the class personalities, abilities, and how to best treat each class. I'm excited about that aspect.

Well, that's how school is going. I've been out a couple times (Halloween - surprisingly dead - pun intended) and visited Seoul with Warren and his girlfriend Jin Ju. Hope all is well with everyone!

Shawn Roe
SLI - Bundang, Hyo Sung Bldg.
46-6 Jungja-Dong, Bundang-Gu, Sungnam-Si,
Gyunngi-Do, 463-010 South Korea (apt phone)

Advertisement



8th November 2006

Shawn-Lo, what's up. I'm in India right now and wish I had made my plans to come through S. Korea on the way back- that would have been way cool. Souds like you're having fun. I'll shoot you an email when more pictures are available from the wedding. Keep up with the blog. -Bryan
8th November 2006

Teaching
Shawn Lo, can I offer some teaching advice? Let them out early and they will love you, even if it's only five minutes early!
8th November 2006

Awesome
Man, you can keep sending me emails, I enjoy hearing about your adventures in Korea - freaking awesome- but I guess the blog is an easier way of doing it. I am sure your quite classes will become more talkative once they become more comfortable - they probably find your hairy american ass intimadating, HA! I am very jealous that you are getting to enjoy this experience, you will remember it forever! Keep the updates coming and the more pictures the better. Pavy
9th November 2006

siick
Shawn, you salty dog. these bloggies are very sick. let those little ones out early and teach them about the redskins!
12th November 2006

Anyoung
Shawnnn - your blogs really make my day, sitting home on a rainy Sunday night laughing out loud to your hilarious stories....Just curious, did you celebrate Pepero Day? read it in the journal the other day....wondering if your students did the whole gift exchange thing....well keep the blogs coming!!! hope you're well -Shin

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb