Reflections Six Months In & A Message for the Holidays


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Gyeonggi-do » Namyangju
November 28th 2009
Published: December 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello and Happy Holidays to you all! This blog marks our 6 month anniversary in South Korea. It has been an eventful and enlightening six months full of surprises, trials and new experiences. We also find ourselves at the halfway point of our teaching contracts. One more thing to celebrate this holiday season. And we will be celebrating! For Jess, it will be her first dose of winter sun & tropical weather. Fran tells her it is an experience not to be missed. We are headed to beautiful Boracay Island in the Philippines for two weeks of relaxation and exploration over Christmas and the New Year.

We find ourselves in the time of the year when most people get together with their loved ones. Being where we are it is impossible to physically be with many whom we love. But know that you are in our thoughts and hearts, and you have been every step of the way. Your support and encouragement has made this journey so much easier and has pushed us forward when the going got rough. We are fortunate to live in an age where the miles are crossed with internet calls, texts, emails, digital photos and online communities. It keeps us connected to life back home and is our support network on an almost daily basis. This is a comfort so many who came before us did not have.

From Jess:

The past six months have changed me profoundly. I actually feel different. Some of you may know already, but I did not have the easiest of adjustments to life in Korea. It actually made me question whether or not I was the 'type' of person who could handle such a drastic life change. But I kept plodding along and then one morning I realized things were different. I am happy here. I do (surprise!) enjoy Korean food, and have also discovered Indian and Thai food during my time here. I am excited to wake up each day wondering what will happen, and what new things I will learn. For this has truly been a learning experience. Learning Korean, learning how to work with children, how to teach English, how to navigate a very foreign land, how to keep in touch across the world & how to find my place here.

I have not made much of an effort so far to learn hangul (the Korean language). Fran has taken it on and made it his misson to learn. I have to say, he surprises me everyday and has made leaps and bounds in terms of reading, writing and speaking. I love to hear him communicating with people and his eagerness has sparked something in me, so I will henceforth make my own attempt at learning the language.

Working with children is a gift. It is the opportunity to contribute to molding the minds of the future. And every day I hope that I teach them at least one thing, even if its small. Some days are frustrating, and some children are hard to reach. But I try to remind myself that at one time in my life I became that child, and that there were still people out there who believed in me - and those people are the reasons I am here today. Every time I realize that 'my' kids have learned something, that I was able to cut across the language barrier and get through to them I feel an immense sense of satisfaction. So often I also find that these children are teaching me; patience, better communication, how to have fun while learning, and they have reminded me of the child within.

Thinking back on what I learned in elementary school has brought my childhood to the forefront of my mind. My imagination takes over quite often now and I remember things like coloring pictures & making up stories about what was going on within the lines, games I played which taught me so many lessons. The youngest of my students have impressed me time and time again with their spongelike minds, and the things they come out with. They make each day a new adventure.

It occurred to me recently that I unknowingly set myself up in my own little psychological experiment. I moved to a place where I do not look like everyone else, where I am the minority. To some people this might seem like a strange observation, but for those of you who know of my college experiences and my wishes to understand the diversity of this world, you will quickly see that this has been a thrilling experience. It is not always easy, and sometimes it can be unpleasant. A friend of mine recently posted an article from the Korean Times
The second Korean wedding we went toThe second Korean wedding we went toThe second Korean wedding we went to

...For a teacher at our school named Jeff (the groom). This is their family photo
online. It was about a Korean man who was fined for his racist remarks to an Indian college professor. And it was the first time a Korean has ever been fined for such a thing. I found this article at first appalling and then intriguing.
From what I understand thus far, this is the reasoning: Koreans live by a hierarchy, and behave according to it. Foreigners do not fit into this hierarchy for the most part and are therefore below it. I don't want to put forth the idea that foreigners are treated poorly here. Koreans are some of the most welcoming and helpful people I've ever come across in my travels. But of course, not everyone can behave in this manner. And I plan to spend the next six months exploring these ideas further, with the hope of finding a better understanding before my time here is up.

Fran:

Hello everybody. I'm sorry that I haven't contributed much to many of the entries here, but now I'm here adding something & telling you all a little of what I've done over the last six months. There have been so many things going on over here since we arrived and it's only now that we're starting to slow things down. We were constantly going somewhere or catching up with something. Despite living very palli, palli (quickly, quickly) we haven't seen much of Korea yet, which we hope to change after Christmas. By not seeing the many parts of Korea we concentrated much of our time in and around Seoul, exploring and eating our way around the different neighbourhoods. We have discovered lots of new foods over here as well as introducing Jess to Indian, Thai, and Vietnemese food. She loves it. (Which is good since we plan to go to these countries after finishing up teaching here.)

Korea has definatley been a rollercoaster. I'm sure that you all know how difficult the school has been for us. Our treatment wasn't what we were expecting but I'm glad that we have been persistent and things are now paying off for us. Life is more settled and we have a better idea of the school's expectations regardless of whether or not we agree with them.

Unfortunately I haven't learned as much of the language as I had hoped but I do know a few useful words and phrases and can usually manage to communicate with Koreans. I gave up learning the numbers as they use four systems and I was desperate to learn these at the time. I can ask for the price of something but I don't understand the answer they give me unless it's written down.

What is next for us?
We leave for the Philippines in just a few days time which I have been looking forward to for the last four months (when we booked it!). I originally wanted to island-hop around and be as adventurous as possible but now I'll probably do nothing. I think I've earned that. We might also be going to Japan in the new year (specifically Tokyo). It's very expensive but worth seeing at least once as we are so close.
In the new year I hope to improve my skiing. I'm not very good but it's plenty of fun. I just don't like the cold!

So apart from seeing more of Korea & learning to ski, I want to continue to make life at our school better & enjoy Korea some more. This includes trying some of the local delicases - no, not dog. But live octopus is on the list. It's supposed to be really good and we see them crawling about in fishtanks everywhere in town. Jess won't be joining me for that one.

To everyone back 'home' -- I hope things are well and you are enjoying this festive season, wherever you are... Have a happy new year & keep warm!

Happy Holidays to all!!!
xxxFran & Jess


Additional photos below
Photos: 79, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



22nd December 2009

Chestnuts roasting on an open fire
You have no idea how cold it is here! Enjoy the warmth of the Philippines and don't think about us shivering miserably in the ice! No, seriously, have a good rest and a Happy Christmas xx

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb