Fun in Minimal Sun!


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
May 11th 2008
Published: May 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well another long weekend is almost over and I must say that it was pretty great! A few coworkers and I decided that staying in Daegu was not an option and since flying to Japan costs way too much to stay for only 2 days we decided that it was best to check out Busan. Aurora really just wanted to go sit on the beach and drink and Busan has a couple great beaches!
We left Daegu by train at 11am yesterday morning and arrived in a very chilly Busan around 1. It really has a resort city feel not like Seoul which just has a big city feel. We stopped for lunch and had some Pork Spine soup, which I realize does not sound good at all but is delicious…it’s like ribs but the spine! After that we walked straight down to the beach which wasn’t busy at all on account of the weather being around 14 degree’s…maybe even chillier because of the wind. The cold didn’t stop us from walking into the water which wasn’t as cold as I was expecting, I mean I’ve felt colder! All along the beach are big 5 star hotels with perfectly manicured properties,
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Haeundae Beach
it was exciting but sad to see so much grass!
We weren’t on the beach long before Aurora busted out the gin and cider (like sprite) and some cups. Now for the record I HATE gin I see no point in drinking something that tastes like a cheap car air freshener. But how many times do you find yourself on a beach in Busan freezing your butt off and being offered free alcohol. Let me answer that for you, this opportunity doesn’t come around every day! Plus I prefer to have something in my glass when someone throws the “Cheers” out there! Along with the drinks we had some delicious dried squid. And when I say delicious I mean not so delicious! I took one bite and threw the rest into the sand! This piece was later discovered by a curious pigeon (yes pigeons at the beach but no gulls!) who picked it up and quickly dropped it instead choosing a piece of sea glass that was laying next to it. Now if a pigeon isn’t going to eat it I think that’s a pretty good indication of what it tastes like! But hey if I can eat a chicken
Photo 21Photo 21Photo 21

The elusive one!
foot then the world is my disgusting mouldy oyster right! *side note! Mickey and I went out with our new Korean friend on Thursday and he ordered the food and what he ordered turned out to be stir fried chickens feet. And I don’t mean pieces I mean the entire damn foot. Mickey was lucky she pulled out the “I’m a vegetarian” card and I was left with “But it looks gross” card which let me tell you doesn’t work in Korea! Inseok ate one first and informed me that no it was delicious and I had to try it and then he proceeded to pick one up (I swear it was like an eagles because it was HUGE) and come at me with it in between his chopsticks. I kind of wish that all the bones in my body had just disappeared because I could have just slid to the floor effortlessly and I’m pretty sure that if I suddenly didn’t have any bones getting me to try the foot would have been taken off the table. Well since we live in the real world and not a sci-fi movie I ran out of backing up room and opened my mouth to the a whole new world of things people shouldn’t put in their mouth! Apparently my facial expressions were comical because both Inseok and Mickey were in hysterics. I wish I could have laughed along with them but I was using every ounce of my being to keep myself from throwing up right there at our table. I didn’t dare spit it out because it’s A) disrespectful to do so here and B) it wasn’t a sheep’s eye ball. I ended up taking the world’s biggest gulp of beer and down it went. So I realize that most of you are gagging now but let me ask you a question. When’s the last time you tried something utterly disgusting but got a great “guess what I did last night” story out of it?!
Ok back to the trip! So we drank, frolicked in the cold water, got covered in sand, were nearly attacked by a pigeon and laughed at the terrible surfers trying to surf the terrible waves which were wave pool quality! We eventually got cold and headed to our motel. Now let me just let you in on a little secret. Korean’s do this thing where
Photo 11Photo 11Photo 11

Annette
they sleep on the floor on thin blanket like padding! So our room was basically a bedroom with a couple of these things tossed on the ground! Not exactly a comfortable sober night’s sleep which is why I think they enjoy drinking here so much! We hung out in the room for awhile drinking and eating Korean junk food which is a lot like Western junk food except 95% of it tastes like seaweed! Oh and a word to the wise from the foolish one, Tim Tams do not work well with gin…well they work well but it isn’t pleasant! Tim Tams and beer however not all that bad!
At around 10 we headed to downtown Busan, which resembles downtown Daegu to go to a hip hop club called Foxy. Aurora has wanted to go to a hip hop club for so long so we all tagged along. The cover was $15 but somehow we got in for $10 and got a free drink out of it! After watching some pretty great dancing *ahem* and sweating away about 10 pounds Mickey and I headed to ground level for some air. You see people can smoke in places here so it was pretty smoke filled! While we were sitting outside I looked up to see Cara from Laurier. Do you even know what that is like! First of all I’m on the other side of the world and not even in the city I work in and neither is she! So awesome! Anyway I’ll be thinking about that for awhile going “holy crap that’s awesome!” Eventually everyone had enough dancing and we grabbed a cab and headed “home”. Most of us picked a spot on the floor and fell asleep while a couple others grabbed a couple more drinks.
This morning Mickey and I decided to head out on our own to find some western style breakfast because Ramyan just doesn’t sit well in my stomach after a night of drinking not to mention in the morning! Ramyan is basically Mr. Noodles and it’s what they eat after a night of drinking while us Westerners look for eggs and sausage and breakfast potatoes! Well we thought about spending $30 for breakfast at the 5 star Paradise Hotel out of desperation for a good “normal” breakfast but it just didn’t seem wise! (I heard that sigh of relief mom and dad!) So we opted for a bagel and half a sandwich from a coffee place. Mickey got an onion bagel with garlic cream cheese and naturally a fork to spread it. I got a spiced chicken sandwich, well half a spiced chicken sandwich on REAL BREAD! After that we went and sat on the boardwalk and waited for one of the American chains to open for lunch. Now this morning for the record was BEAUTIFUL beach weather despite being windy still but super sunny and decently warm. We ended up to Bennigans where I got a club sandwich on ridiculously delicious 12 grain bread and Mickey got the gourmet fries. Now I’m not sure what made them gourmet, it was either the cheese or Doritos buried under the fries! This country is crazy!
After lunch we walked to the other end of the beach along a path built up the cliff. I got some amazing shots of the ocean and naturally something happened to my camera and half the pictures I took this weekend have corrupted data and are no longer usable. I’m PISSED! By the time we were finished that we headed to the train station to meet up with everyone
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

Alyssa on the comfy train!
else. That is where I realized that I was the colour of a very ripe tomato. Naturally I managed to get a nice burn on my face, arms and legs. And of course the burn on my face reveals that I was wearing sunglasses, the burn on my arms tells the tale of my ¾ length shirt and the burn on my legs makes public that I was wearing pedal pushers and was walking towards the sun at all times! It feels good, especially when I go to scratch the cornucopia of bug bites located directly under all the major burn sites (as well as my annual summer rash). The sun and the bugs are in it together. As if I don’t stand out enough being white now I get to be that blotchy peeling red person!



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

See photographic evidence!
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

Pork Spine soup
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

...o...k!
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Yes she is eating ice cream with chopsticks!
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

The pro
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

Introducing some very white feet!
Photo 20Photo 20
Photo 20

fishing boats
Photo 23Photo 23
Photo 23

I knew it was cold in Busan just by looking at the train window at Anne!


Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb