Beomosa Temple and Geumgang Park


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
January 29th 2007
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

A couple of weeks ago all ESS staff ahd a 4 day weekend- yippee!! This is one of the perks of working at ESS, we only work 20 days in a month and because we had worked over that the previous month it meant we got 2 days off this month. I mentionned to my wonderful 11am class that I was at a loss as to what to do with the two days but I need not have feared, they came to my rescue with an itinarary, smiling enthusiasm and the obligatory homemade gimbab (the equivalent of an Englishmans cheese and pickle sandwich except replace the cheese, bread and Branstons with rice, vegetables and seaweed).
As per usual whenever I take a daytrip the weather took a turn for the worse, I swear all British people are cursed with the weather. However it didn't dampen our spirits and first port of call was Beomosa temple which is at the end of the subway line north. Beomosa actually rates as the nicest temple I've been to, and many would agree with me. Beomosa translates as 'Fish of the Buddhist Scripture Temple' and is also called 'The Temple where fish from Nirvana play'. Although originally founded in 678 many of its buildings date from the 17th and 18th centuries.
We wandered around in the drizzle for a while taking it all in before taking a cab to Geumnang Park to have a go on the cable cars. The only time I've been on a cable car previously was in Bulgaria when I was about 10 which literally was like a wooden bench strapped to some rickety looking apparatus- my mums face was a picture!This was an altogether more organised affair and I really enjoyed taking a trip up the mountain. The weather wasn't on our side as it was really misty but there was an etheral quality to rising upwards surrounded by mist and clouds, a bit too cold to be heavenly tho.
At the top there was a Korean greasy spoon where my friends got Odong (fishy stuff on a stick) and I got noodles to warm us up and we tucked into the gimbab one of my students had prepared- she couldn't join us on the trip but had taken the trouble to make us lunch, so flippin nice!One of the highlights of being up the mountain, aside from the fresh air was seeing my first real live woodpecker- he wasn't half making a racket. See photos, I did my best but I'm no David Attenborough......




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Up in the mountains..Up in the mountains..
Up in the mountains..

..the air quality was so good
Natural spring water..Natural spring water..
Natural spring water..

I think Chloe pulled off the 'look happy while drinking water' request
Where's Woodpecker!?Where's Woodpecker!?
Where's Woodpecker!?

Ok so not the best pic, I did try!
A little Korean man..A little Korean man..
A little Korean man..

..making trdaitional wooden handicraft..a happy smiling man...


7th February 2007

I always find your blog entries the correct balance of factual titbits and anecdotal humour. 10/10.
9th February 2007

mwah mwah mwah
Similarly I also find the otb photos you send me tipping the balance in favour of the absurd and surreal :) You can't really beat a Shaun covered in Marmite.....xxxxxx

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb