Pigs Feet anyone?


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Busan
November 28th 2006
Published: November 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So a couple of Fridays ago (that pesky time delay again) my Korean co-workers 'treated' me to the wonderful jokpal, thats pigs feet to you and me. Apparently it had been one of the previous foreign teachers favourites and it was hoped I would take to the trotters with the same relish and gusto that he had. (On an aside did I mention that the previous teacher was also from Durham- Sherburn Hill to be precise, approximately 3 miles from my house? It only turns out we went to the same flippin school- a small small world I tell thee).

So yep off we trotted (ahem) to one of the many jokpal restaurants that line a road dedicated to their consumption. I knew what I was letting myself in for as I walk along this road everyday to get home, restaurant after restaurant with trotters stacked up in the window looking like they're preparing for feeding time at the devil zoo (look at the pictre- am I lying!?). Jok pal is apparently pretty expensive and as Mitch had won a bonus for his teaching he decided to treat us which was really kind of him.

When it arrived at the table it did not resemble the hellish devil food that had the hordes crowding into the restaurant- instead it just looked like sliced meat, albeit a little fatty. When it arrived I asked Mike if it was the pig feet. If he'd said no, it was just the starter, then I'd have tucked in happily but instead he confirmed that yes, this was the jok pal.

I set about my task like any good foreigner attempting to adapt to different foods should but just couldn't get the feet thing out of my head. Then Mitch gave me the 'best bit'. The 'best bit' seemed to me to be the gnarliest, fattiest, chewiest bit and as much as I tried not to, had to be discretely spat into a napkin. Believe me, it was wrong for so many reasons, those of you who know me well know I can't even eat a banana because of its texture never mind pig toenail or whatever it was.

I told my mum and she said that apparently 'we used to eat pigs feet'. I really hope she meant 'we' as in 'in the olden days in Britain when we ate tongue'
Mitch and So-YoungMitch and So-YoungMitch and So-Young

Mitch in full sexy mode...
and not 'we' as in the Morton family.

However I still had a great time, it was the first time I'd been out with my Korean co-workers and I really enjoyed it, they're all awesome and I'm making good friends with all of them. Perhaps next time I'll persuade them galbi is better.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Jok PalJok Pal
Jok Pal

It actually tasted pretty good, I just couldn't get ove rthe feet thing...


10th May 2007

i have been snooping in your blog...
...a sherburnite in korea? that is suprising, the fact they enjoyed eating pigs feet is not! im feeling very jealous! i wnt to see bits of word like you, explorer girl! loves!

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb