Goodbye Singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
June 17th 2011
Published: June 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today is our last day in Singapore. We're leaving tonight at 2:30 am local time. The last few days have been relaxing. I hung out with Karin's grandpa and family all day Wednesday. Karin caught an Indonesian form of Monteczuma's Revenge and has been mostly immobilized since Tuesday so yesterday I went out to MacRitchie Reservoir by myself for a trek through one of the few remaining patches of urban rainforests in the world.

I deemed my trip complete when I spotted my first wild monkey bouncing in the trees along the trail in the reservoir. It's a really nice park with a great bridge through the tree tops of the jungle. The city seems to melt away along the 10 kilometer path through the patch of forest. You can only hear the chirping of birds and drops of rain once you get a good 10-15 min up the trail. At the very end I spotted a 3-4 foot monitor lizard swimming in the reservoir right in front of me.

In the afternoon, Karin and I went to Little India and Chinatown for some souvenir shopping to round out our trip. I need to pack, but today's been a great day to veg out. We're going to have a big family dinner tonight at Silvia's house then we're catching a cab at 10p for the airport.

I'm going to go make the rest of my remaining vacation. Signing off from Singapore



Josh


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb