Singapore and goodbye Asia!


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
October 24th 2010
Published: October 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, we very nearly missed our boat off the Islands. We both had a dive that morning and then I had another one a bit later (greedy I know!) Which would 'apparently' leave plenty of time to catch the boat. My dive finished later than planned, and neither of us had eaten, so we left our bags at the dive school and grabbed a quick bite. Just as we got the food the bloomin boat arrived, early, EARLY, unheard of in Asia I'm sure! So we swallowed our food whole and ran for our bags. A couple of girls we met were keeping the boat from leaving, so we quickly threw our bags on board and climbed on...I then realised I'd left my flip flops at the dive school..woops! After all the commotion and flip-flop saving we were on our way. We decided to get a night train directly from the mainland to Singapore. It was great. Geoff and I had bunks (Geoff had top!) We just slept through the journey, the border was easy peasy (In comparison to most Asian borders.)

When we arrived in Singapore, Geoff and I decided to find a cheap hostel in Little India, which was meant to be the cheapest. Not so cheap for us 😊 Cant remember the cost exactly but it was a lot lot more than the other hostels we had stayed in and even grosser (If possible!) It didn't really matter though, Geoff had great fun looking for an IPUD Touchy (IPOD Touch, renamed by us for comical value) I had less fun being dragged around the million electrical stores (Pay back I guess, for clothes shopping in Norwich!) Geoff, after 2 days of intense looking, decided the IPOD's were just too expensive, (although we did find this out within the first hour, because of the exchange rate, but I guess he had to try and prove them wrong!) On the second day we went to the zoo, which was awesome. Saw loads of cool animals! And that night, we went to the Night safari, which was really great too. We made our way round some of the safari by train, which showed us cool nocturnal animals.

Singapore, in our overall opinion was 'Very clean and tidy, good zoo, bloomin expensive...oh and had a great Mac Donalds' As quoted by Geoff!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb