Upon Arrival


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Singapore StreetSingapore StreetSingapore Street

A typical main street, though there's usually a bit more traffic.
I let Oxford at 11:30am, 25th June, for a 3pm flight. Nervous and worried about what exactly it was that I was doing, I said goodbye to my Dad (who got in trouble for carrying liquids and being in the departure queue) and headed off on the 17 hour flight to Singapore. I got to Doha, Qatar, 7 hours later when the local time was midnight and the temperatures had 'cooled' to 33C. It was a simple stopover and I was in Qatar (pronounced Katta) for the whole of 2 hours. The flight to Singapore was much more basic than the flight to Doha. Before, I had a tv in the back of the chair with a nifty remote controller that doubled as a satellite phone (for a price). Now I was left with about 65% of the space and a TV somewhere over there in the corner. Singapore came an uncomfortable 8 hours later where local time was 2m. The airport was terribly exciting of course with a monorail to terminal 2 to catch the MRT (Singaporean Subway) to Little India. One thing I noticed about the airport, and it may sound harsh, were that the guards were a
PlazaPlazaPlaza

Next to the road
cross between canadian mounties and australian crocodile hunters. I would have taken a picture but they had very big guns and I didn't want to get kicked out the country just 5 minutes before entering. Singapore is hot, humid and sunny. Nice weather until you actually want to do something and you realise no amount of showering can keep you cool. The first night I ended up meeting an awesome group. Me, a girl from Korea, a guy from Indonesia and guy from Zimbabwe. The food was fantastic and just $3. I then went on the Night Safari with the Suya, the Korean girl. It was actually quite good. It's basically a zoo at night and hence the animals are awake with a kind of golf buggy pulling the rest of the train around. I saw loads of different animals really close up as the tram went through the different climate zones (forest, jungle, desert etc). Animals were enticed close by food if you're wondering. There were also two cages you could go inside. One with bats in and one with flying squirrels and some other strange creatures running around in.
Anyway, that was yesterday. I have all the details written in a diary but it would take ages to type here and I've already built up quite a queue (despite it being 20 past midnight). I've written it all down and collected fragments of stuff in a diary/scrap book that Eva/Kristin bought me (cheers!). One girl is lurking behind me like a vulture or something waiting for the internet as there's only one computer.
Having a fantastic time here. Singapore is a really nice city!

I'll put todays adventures on here tomorrow.

Advertisement



28th June 2007

hey nic!
hey nic! glad you arrived safely and having lots of fun by the sounds of it! keep us informed... when r u leavign singapore and heading off to vietnam? sounds amazing anyway! i have my last day of thsi teaching placement tomorrow, then heading home! has been really fun and i have even taught some beginners german! take care nic! hope to hear from you soon(well, when u can!), sarah x

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb