refreshing singapore


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore
May 12th 2007
Published: May 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Immediately when entering Singapore I felt tension go away and the need to look over my shoulder disappear. It was a vacation from my vacation.

The first thing I noticed was how green the city is. Trees are everywhere. I was expecting more of a concrete, sterile looking city, but instead it still had a natural, fresh feeling. It is an example of what a city should look like if proper city planning is done.

Another reason why my time spent in Singapore was so relaxing was because of where I was staying. It was not another hotel room, but was with my friend's David and Noer. I met them when diving in Borneo and they offered me their guest room if I was in town. It is so much more comforting to be in a home and made me forget that I was on the road.

Getting around Singapore is extremely easy and efficient. You have your choice of metro, bus, taxi or private car. The first three are government run and very easy to use. All are very well maintained and can get you anywhere you need to go. I've never seen a metro with no graffiti or no signs of wear. Very impressive. Even during rush hour when they're crowded it's not too bad because their air-con still blows cold.

Another friend, Jennifer, whom I had met previously in the Philippines, took me out a few times. Her and her boyfriend Mark let me cook a dinner at their place. That was a treat for me because I’ve only eaten out since being in Asia, so being able to make a meal myself was good change.

I didn't really see the sights of Singapore. I spent my time there resting and just charging up for the next stop. My camera was broken the first few days, so I didn't take many photos. Luckily I was in camera capital of Asia, so getting it repaired wasn't a big ordeal. One night Dave took me out to see the riverfront area. Over there is several clubs, bars, and restaurants and during the earlier night hours has more of a family feel. Everything is built big and has a very clean feeling, like most of the city.

Singapore was surprise to me. Before coming, I thought it would be clean, but very strict and boring. Instead it felt very cosmopolitan and laid back. It's not the place to get into trouble, but it doesn't have a big brother looking over you feel. The people are friendly and always smiling. Their population is diverse and from every corner of the globe. It is a world city. It's not a place for a strict budget, but for the level of comfort you get there, it is still much cheaper than any US city. It is very fashionable and modern. Nice place to be and to live. It made a very good first impression.

Next stop Cambodia.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



22nd May 2007

nice photos
love the photos of the sunrise (or sunsets?)
22nd May 2007

it was sunrise
it's the only good thing about a 6am flight
23rd May 2007

Wow
Big E, The Singapore pics are amazing. i had no idea Singapore looked like that.

Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 22; qc: 108; dbt: 0.1676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb