SG55 Weekend: Hotel G Staycation (Aug 2020)


Advertisement
Singapore's flag
Asia » Singapore » Bugis Village
August 9th 2020
Published: August 23rd 2020
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, 9th August 2020

Hotel G probably ticked most of the items on a Great Staycation Experience.

Comfortable, plushy beds, powerful rain-showers, fluffy towels, a contemporary outlook, Metis brand of toiletries (that smelt great) and an efficient check-in experience. Oh yes, my room rate came with a complimentary breakfast thrown in as well.

And all these came with a jaw-dropping price tag of SGD 90 over a National Day Weekend!

What more could I ask for? Probably a queen-bedding configuration would be a nice touch.

Anyway, the staycation experience during the COVID-19 pandemic meant that in-room amenities such as face masks and hand sanitizers were included on top of the usual fare. In addition, the usual Safe Entry and temperature-taking initiatives at the lobby level meant that all guests were thoroughly screened for symptoms even before reaching the reception at level 2.

With all the above safe management procedures in place, it made perfect sense to stay indoors as much as possible to avoid the hussle of checking-in and out of the property. The only time that I was out and about was during dinner time to fuel my sashimi and udon cravings at Itacho Sushi in Bugis Junction.

Did I have a good rest? Unfortunately not.

In fact, I was waking up at regular intervals throughout the night. I believe the culprit was the potent Ice Milk Tea from Tuk Tuk Cha post-dinner. Or maybe it was that strange-looking decorative item gazing down at me throughout the night?

Probably.

Eventually, it turned out that I was even more tired after my 2D1N staycation over the weekend. Maybe I should contemplate a 3D2N stay in future so that I would have better luck (in my sleep).

Yes - I think I should do that in light of the upcoming $100 tourism vouchers to be disbursed in December 2020.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 18; qc: 86; dbt: 0.1723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb