Writing about the Philippines


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines
April 12th 2006
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Being a teacher, I still get to think of how students can benefit from writing about their travels. As I am now a member of this site, I thought that this could be a great way to allow students to explore the world of media in their most convenient way, hone their english language writing and reading skills, and even get to have a learning experience in social studies and geography from the discoveries they make out of exploring other places that other bloggers have been to. These are just some of the benefits that can be achieved through writing about the places they've been to.

I've been to at least 6 schools for my education (3 universities and 3 colleges) and I can sincerely say that in all those learning years I have always forgotten what was taught just right after the semester was over. But I have not failed to remember at least 50% of what I have learned from travelling. Similarly, my daughter can hardly remember her table of multiplication but can vividly tell about her travels. The truth is that what ever is experienced is better retained and understood than what is learned through mere hearing or reading.

But why the Philippines you may ask. The Philippines offers a unique experience. We can go from historical to tribal to fashion to art to agricultural, to tourism to eco-diversity... you name it. If I had one whole year to travel, I'd do so starting from Luzon all the way to Mindanao. We have been blessed with rich natural resources and wonderful land and waterforms with a rich, colorful history added to it. What's more, the Philippines is influenced by different cultures of both east and west that have blended to produce a baroque art that represent neither. In the Philippines can be found some of those declared by the United Nations as the World Heritage sites such as the Vigan houses, the baroque churches and the St. Paul Subterranean River to name a few.

Not only will travelling and writing be beneficial to the Filipino writer, it in fact contributes to the image that the Philippines is and should be a major tourist destination for people from the other parts of the globe. It in fact helps boost our country's tourism when we tell how we ourselves appreciate our own land. Who can better tell about the Philippines than Juan himself? I am adamant to what is happening in the country for the simple reason that though, admittedly, unfortunate events occur, they are but isolated cases, created by some unscrupulous people, that can happen in any part of the world. Why should the Philippines be spared?

Still, I believe, our country is worth telling. There are still so much that have yet to be discovered. But, discover does not mean exploit.

Advertisement



18th June 2007

hoooow
now i know marami pah ring mga teacher ang may pagpapahalaga kip it up mam jane
3rd January 2008

Sorry for the late response. I've not been able to access this account for some time now. Yes, I love the Philippines. There are times I get so frustrated though but hey, what the heck, I can't do anything. I'm a true blue Filipino. You'll be amazed at how the youth (and I salute them) have come to be so aware of the problems that we face. Thanks for reading my blog.

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb